Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Flywheel, spur gear, air flow and other questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2003, 02:50 PM
Tech Fanatic

Default Flywheel, spur gear, air flow and other questions

I'm new to R/C nitro cars. Just got my first car monday and already I'm addicted to it. I have a few questions though if someone can help me out. I have a RTR Nitro RS4 3:

1. What is the proper maintenance of the engine? Should I do something after every run, every month, every six months, etc?

2. I was reading somewhere about rebuilding the engine. How often is this done and what is involved with rebuilding the engine?

3. I broke in my engine (with the body off) and today I put the body on to drive it around. I noticed light smoke comming from the engine. shortly afterward the engine didn't seem to respond to well so i figured that maybe it wasn't getting enough air to cool the engine so I immediately took off the body and stopped the engine. I have the lamborghini body and was wondering what everyone else does to make sure that the engine gets enough air to keep it cool.

4. Last question. After I went through a tank of gas i openened up the fuel lid and noticed smoke comming out of the container. What does that mean and is it normal?

one more thing:

Some of the screws vibrated loose and i had to unscrew the engine from the chassis to screw them back in. But ever since that i can't seem to align the fly wheel and the spur gear correctly. When i tighten the screws on the bottom of the chassis that i took out it seems as though the tighter i tighten them the harder it is to push the car. I noticed that if i put my finger on the engine and push it to the right its easier to push. If i dont tighten the screws all the way they vibrate off. I have tried thread lock. My main question is how do i get the flywheel and spur gear to flow freely while tightening the screws so that they dont vibrate off? Are there any tricks to it?
Old 03-27-2003, 02:54 PM
Tech Adept