R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Like Tree7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2011, 05:51 AM   #5866
Tech Elite
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,514
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Riketsu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roger999 View Post
hi, just wanted to know how you guys check tweak of your car? Just got setup wheels and when i check tweak on that wheels car is not tweaked, but when i put foam wheels car is tweaked... My all foam wheels are same sizes 59/60.
I would trust your setup wheels over your foam wheels...

They may be the same sizes... but the 0.3+/- is where the difference lies. Specially if you trued them with an angle.

Remember also that the width of the foam wheel makes it difficult to notice when the tire actually lifted from the ground. The setup wheels is more precise.
__________________
eBay user id: riketsukirai
Riketsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:16 PM   #5867
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 517
Default

Want to know what is the different of the NT1 2011 then the previous version? I can't tell from their web? The chassis looks the same.
ioxqq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:29 PM   #5868
Tech Elite
 
Serpent-Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,848
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

The chassis is actually different. It has spaces for brass or carbon stiffeners front and rear.
__________________
Inf1nity CM Beat1 Racing
Serpent-Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 08:07 PM   #5869
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 517
Default

thanks Can the 2011 chassis works in 2010?
ioxqq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 08:08 PM   #5870
Tech Fanatic
 
Osiris 75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Converse, TX
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ioxqq View Post
thanks Can the 2011 chassis works in 2010?
Yes
__________________
SPONSORS: AWESOMATIX USA / HOBBYWING USA / AVID CONCEPTS / R1 WURKS / POWERMASTER FUELS (VP RACING) / 2MM DESIGNS
RC TARGET/CAPRICORN USA / REFLEX RACING / ULTI TIRES

Chris Kemper
Osiris 75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 11:39 PM   #5871
Tech Fanatic
 
roger999's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 841
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riketsu View Post
I would trust your setup wheels over your foam wheels...

They may be the same sizes... but the 0.3+/- is where the difference lies. Specially if you trued them with an angle.

Remember also that the width of the foam wheel makes it difficult to notice when the tire actually lifted from the ground. The setup wheels is more precise.
Thanks Riketsu, you suggest to use tweak station as well? Or use traditional method like lift up a car by hand?
__________________
facebook.com/rogergrafix
roger999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 05:36 AM   #5872
Tech Elite
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,514
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Riketsu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roger999 View Post
Thanks Riketsu, you suggest to use tweak station as well? Or use traditional method like lift up a car by hand?
You can also check by using the tweak station... But I believe that lifting it with the setup wheels is more accurate, just my opinion.

After tweaking it with the setup wheels, sometimes i double check it against the tweak station and its dead on.
__________________
eBay user id: riketsukirai
Riketsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 08:05 AM   #5873
Tech Fanatic
 
roger999's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 841
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Riketsu, one more, can i balance my chassis in NT1? I mean should i check the balance and does it need to put some balancing weights on that?
__________________
facebook.com/rogergrafix
roger999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 10:43 AM   #5874
Tech Elite
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,514
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Riketsu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roger999 View Post
Riketsu, one more, can i balance my chassis in NT1? I mean should i check the balance and does it need to put some balancing weights on that?
Yes you can.

I am currently using a two low profiles servos, a low-profile heat sink, the 30gram C below the C, the heavy motor mount, micro receiver, new PT and the receiver box and the car came pretty much balanced.

In stock form, you probably need to add 15-20 gram in the pipe side (where the 3 holes are) because of the weight of the box. If you remove the box and use the EC mount, the car will pretty much balanced...

In order to balance it perfectly, I suggest using two identical scales and to substitute the shocks with linkages of equal length (as DS has recommended). It is by far the best way to balance the car and get a very accurate reading which does not change with the shock movement.



The front of the car is mounted in a Hudy Balancing Pin on top of a 3rd scale.

These scales are very cheap in eBay and I got em at around $6 a piece.
__________________
eBay user id: riketsukirai
Riketsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 12:17 AM   #5875
Tech Fanatic
 
roger999's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 841
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

thanks for that, tomorrow ill borrow 2 scales for now. Just thinking that mayby would be better to just block the pistons and leave a car with standard shocks for balancing....?
__________________
facebook.com/rogergrafix
roger999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 01:40 AM   #5876
Tech Elite
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,514
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Riketsu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roger999 View Post
thanks for that, tomorrow ill borrow 2 scales for now. Just thinking that mayby would be better to just block the pistons and leave a car with standard shocks for balancing....?
You can probably do that with the shocks... The point is that the shock does not change its length and that both lengths of each side are identical.
__________________
eBay user id: riketsukirai
Riketsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 04:00 AM   #5877
Tech Fanatic
 
roger999's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 841
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

thanks a million for your help Riketsu!
__________________
facebook.com/rogergrafix
roger999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 09:33 PM   #5878
Tech Elite
 
rx7ttlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riketsu View Post
You can probably do that with the shocks... The point is that the shock does not change its length and that both lengths of each side are identical.
If your using the kitchen scale method its really easy to balance the car. Get 4 of the ebay scales. Place the car on the scale pads with the setup adapters bolted on. Then adjust the diagonal weights till the sum of the LF AND RR is = to RF and LR. That point you have 0 tweak (or wedge), and then simply add weight where you need it to get to min and or balanced weight. Recheck ride height and chassis level (left to right) then your all set.
__________________
|Team Xray | RC America |MAX Engines | Hudy |Jaco | KO PROPO |"From Slovakia with Love" T3 | Team Timezone |

Timezone Raceway & Hobbies - http://www.timezonehobbies.com
rx7ttlm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 01:42 AM   #5879
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: So Florida
Posts: 937
Default

+1

Last edited by Joe Chaplow; 03-12-2011 at 02:59 PM. Reason: different thread
Joe Chaplow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 11:47 AM   #5880
Tech Master
 
CanyonCarverR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,340
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I'm just finishing my new NT1WC and have a question; how is gear mesh adjusted? Just with gear sizes? There is a little wiggle room in the motor mount and engine mount screws but it doesn't seem like enough to make gear changes without changing both pinion and spur.
CanyonCarverR1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS - NEW !!!! XRAY NT18T and XRAY NT18 plus HUDY micro truck starter box w/ battery Omarko Australia For Sale/Trade 2 06-25-2008 08:47 PM
Xray T2, Brushed Motor Combo, Setup Tools, Xray Springs, Bodies etc... GroffBall R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 09-23-2007 08:53 PM
WTB: NIB Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A Australia Wanted to Buy 4 01-02-2007 03:30 PM
WTB: Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 12-30-2006 03:26 PM
XRAY sedan spring kit / XRAY multi-diff / PRS 114t spur / RR 64p pinions / Stratus evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 12-19-2006 09:33 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:45 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net