R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Like Tree7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-18-2009, 07:43 AM   #4201
Tech Elite
 
aussies1129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LAND DOWN UNDER
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freestyles View Post
I agree. I remember reading something about this earlier in the thread. I think the problem was the collet if i remebmer correctly.
hows the new car going mate?
__________________
Proudly supported by......
Premier Model Supplies Pty Ltd
H.E.I AUSTRALIA
XRAY*****PRO-LINE*****HUDY*****
-----FUTABA-----NOVAROSSI-----
aussies1129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 08:34 AM   #4202
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

I have an NT1 with motor and extras 4 sale in this link:
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...or-extras.html
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 11:12 AM   #4203
Tech Regular
 
Nitro-Racer*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 398
Default

seems a good deal
__________________
Xray Nt1-Novarossi 3sct-KoPropo-GRP-Altis 2.3-RB Fuels
Xray 808 09-RB Killer 9-Hitec-KoPropo-RB Fuels
Nitro-Racer* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 11:21 AM   #4204
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 48
Thumbs up

NOT SOLD YEEET????????????????????? thats cheeeeaaaaap.... if i didnt have one i would buy yours
drivehardgopro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:11 PM   #4205
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, thanks for all of the help. I have tried most of these fixes and with no results, i have not heard of the collet for pico engines is there a different one that could have some effect on the tranny. Anyway i have checked the mesh the chasis changed the whole rear end of the car and everything and as far as the statement of trust me its the picco. What do you mean? i cant see how one brand of engine can cause gear strip if you can elaborate more on this that would be helpful, and also if i have to buy a specific engine for this car that forget it i like to run what i want to run and not have the car dictate to me what engine I have to run.
mrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:15 PM   #4206
Tech Elite
 
ToysRUsKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cinncinati, OH
Posts: 2,619
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to ToysRUsKid
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrod View Post
Hey guys, thanks for all of the help. I have tried most of these fixes and with no results, i have not heard of the collet for pico engines is there a different one that could have some effect on the tranny. Anyway i have checked the mesh the chasis changed the whole rear end of the car and everything and as far as the statement of trust me its the picco. What do you mean? i cant see how one brand of engine can cause gear strip if you can elaborate more on this that would be helpful, and also if i have to buy a specific engine for this car that forget it i like to run what i want to run and not have the car dictate to me what engine I have to run.
Sounds like you really want to get rid of the car. There's no one brand of motor that this car needs, all brands work. It sounds like you're having an issue with the motor, that's surfacing as an issue in the car. I've seen this car with almost every brand of motor, and never really heard about stripping gears until this thread.

i know many who have had trouble with those picco motors in other ways, so my guess would be the motor is the problem.
__________________
Dorian Tisdale - Professional RC Driver Wannabe
ToysRUsKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 07:18 PM   #4207
Tech Apprentice
 
JJBooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I know youve probably already checked but if the inner bearing is bad or has any play inside the clutch bell it will strip a gear. Just trying to help.
JJBooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 08:57 PM   #4208
Tech Apprentice
 
magee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 50
Default second gear

mrod did you try the new 09 v2 gear its wider i had the same problem until i change to the v2 gear i remved first gear push the engine far back as i could get it , it was a litle tight then i put first back on ran it slow to break them in and no problem sofar, my luck next time i race it, ill strip it but its been good for about three races try it thanks ps also watch your second gear clutch you may half to sand it round again after while it get flat spots and hiting to hard after sanding, it will shift smooth into second hope it works for you thanks
magee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 01:25 AM   #4209
Tech Master
 
grub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,021
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrod View Post
Hey guys, thanks for all of the help. I have tried most of these fixes and with no results, i have not heard of the collet for pico engines is there a different one that could have some effect on the tranny. Anyway i have checked the mesh the chasis changed the whole rear end of the car and everything and as far as the statement of trust me its the picco. What do you mean? i cant see how one brand of engine can cause gear strip if you can elaborate more on this that would be helpful, and also if i have to buy a specific engine for this car that forget it i like to run what i want to run and not have the car dictate to me what engine I have to run.
also how hard does your second gear cut in
i did strip my second gear when my 2 speed engaged to savagely
__________________
This is my xray nt1!
There are many other xray nt1's like it, but this one is mine!
Without my xray nt1,I am nothing!
Without me, my xray nt1 is nothing!
pop corn anyone or maybe some fairy floss
grub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 03:28 AM   #4210
Tech Master
 
freestyles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,118
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrod View Post
Hey guys, thanks for all of the help. I have tried most of these fixes and with no results, i have not heard of the collet for pico engines is there a different one that could have some effect on the tranny. Anyway i have checked the mesh the chasis changed the whole rear end of the car and everything and as far as the statement of trust me its the picco. What do you mean? i cant see how one brand of engine can cause gear strip if you can elaborate more on this that would be helpful, and also if i have to buy a specific engine for this car that forget it i like to run what i want to run and not have the car dictate to me what engine I have to run.
I personally don't run picco motors so i can't tell you for sure. What i do know is that people running picco motors especially the red dot had to change the collet they were using and once they changed it had no more gear stripping issues. For example if the collet your using is 5mm you might need a 6mm one instead or vice versa. Give it a go, surely it can't get any worse


Quote:
Originally Posted by aussies1129 View Post
hows the new car going mate?
It is absolutely awesome When i compare it to where i came from (TM G4's) it is sooo much better in every department. It makes me wonder why i didn't change earlier. I've finally finished break in with the new RB and it screams, i'm very, very happy with it all.

How is your going mate, been racing much lately?
__________________
This public service announcement was brought to you by the letter "B" and the number "9". Thanks for watching.
freestyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 09:32 AM   #4211
Tech Fanatic
 
D-nicest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NY, New York
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrod View Post
Hey guys, thanks for all of the help. I have tried most of these fixes and with no results, i have not heard of the collet for pico engines is there a different one that could have some effect on the tranny. Anyway i have checked the mesh the chasis changed the whole rear end of the car and everything and as far as the statement of trust me its the picco. What do you mean? i cant see how one brand of engine can cause gear strip if you can elaborate more on this that would be helpful, and also if i have to buy a specific engine for this car that forget it i like to run what i want to run and not have the car dictate to me what engine I have to run.
When I used the Red Dot, I drilled out the screw holes in the crank case like .2mm's bigger and it solved my problem. I believe there is a slight issue with how fat the crankcase is around the engine mount area, and where the screw holes are. Doing this allowed for better adjustability of gear mesh and may have freed up a stress area...
__________________
Diatta Collymore [email protected]([email protected])(www.fordhamhobbies.com) (Wallacemotorsports.net) Fordham Hobbies, Wallace Motorsports, WRC Racing, Hot Race Tyres, Ielasi Tuned Engines, VP Power Master fuel, KO Propo America, Paint By Mikey Mike
D-nicest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 11:20 AM   #4212
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 163
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hey Guys, thanks for all of the input. I tried changing the collet on the motor to the pico 6mm collet and so far I have not stripped a gear, I ran 2 qualifiers and a main yesterday with no problems, I evan ran a 53/58 spur combo and the 53 survived, before i was running 55/60 and kept stripping out the 55. Hopefully the motor collet was the problem. Anyway so far so good.
mrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 12:25 PM   #4213
Tech Regular
 
Nitro-Racer*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 398
Default

good to hear that the problem is solved(hopefully)
__________________
Xray Nt1-Novarossi 3sct-KoPropo-GRP-Altis 2.3-RB Fuels
Xray 808 09-RB Killer 9-Hitec-KoPropo-RB Fuels
Nitro-Racer* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 01:15 PM   #4214
Tech Addict
 
t4mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 541
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thinking of picking one of these cars up to go along with my XB808 buggy. You guys running .12 engines or .15.
__________________
SC10 4X4 Short Course
SC10 FT 2WD Short Course; FT B4.1 +8mm Buggy
FT T4 Dirt Oval
Silva Concepts R50 Oval
Custom Works Dominator; FT TC3 Trans Am
t4mania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 01:30 PM   #4215
Tech Fanatic
 
D-nicest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NY, New York
Posts: 876
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t4mania View Post
Thinking of picking one of these cars up to go along with my XB808 buggy. You guys running .12 engines or .15.
We run .12 size motors
__________________
Diatta Collymore [email protected]([email protected])(www.fordhamhobbies.com) (Wallacemotorsports.net) Fordham Hobbies, Wallace Motorsports, WRC Racing, Hot Race Tyres, Ielasi Tuned Engines, VP Power Master fuel, KO Propo America, Paint By Mikey Mike
D-nicest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS - NEW !!!! XRAY NT18T and XRAY NT18 plus HUDY micro truck starter box w/ battery Omarko Australia For Sale/Trade 2 06-25-2008 08:47 PM
Xray T2, Brushed Motor Combo, Setup Tools, Xray Springs, Bodies etc... GroffBall R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 09-23-2007 08:53 PM
WTB: NIB Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A Australia Wanted to Buy 4 01-02-2007 03:30 PM
WTB: Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 12-30-2006 03:26 PM
XRAY sedan spring kit / XRAY multi-diff / PRS 114t spur / RR 64p pinions / Stratus evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 12-19-2006 09:33 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:16 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net