R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Like Tree6Likes

Old 07-06-2008, 10:04 PM   #3196
Tech Elite

Send a message via AIM to THeGame

I donít think there is any real performance benefit in running the aluminum shocks. Iím still running the stock shocks and have had no problems with them. I would think the aluminum bodies are more durable then the stock ones.
Old 07-06-2008, 11:27 PM   #3197
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)

IMO, the al shocks are just a lil more durable and mainly easier to build. I have been using these composite shocks for 4 years, tested other shocks. bumpy track there is some to gain, but most of the time its just a question of getting the right oil/ valving / spring.. build the composite shocks right and they work fine.

Timezone Raceway & Hobbies - http://www.timezonehobbies.com
rx7ttlm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 06:17 AM   #3198
B4
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I've change to the Alu shocks only because i had an accident and broke one of the original composites. I decided that if i was going to buy something I may as well get the alu ones. There isn't any performance gain as far as i can tell and i run them with the single o-ring, they are easier to build IMHO.
B4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 07:08 AM   #3199
Tech Elite

Quote:
Originally Posted by THeGame View Post
I donít think there is any real performance benefit in running the aluminum shocks. Iím still running the stock shocks and have had no problems with them. I would think the aluminum bodies are more durable then the stock ones.
Yep. If you do use the aluminum ones, I'd recommend building them with the 1 o-ring config. I use them on the front to protect against DNF's, due to collisions.
Un-sponsored Shoutout: NexusRacing.com
*** 301 Raceway is my home away from Home ***
teamgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 07:32 AM   #3200
Tech Adept

Quote:
Originally Posted by teamgp View Post