R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Like Tree6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-19-2007, 02:28 AM   #2266
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

I forget HongKong is the best place to buy everything.
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 04:24 AM   #2267
Super Moderator
 
Snowy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 812
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAVICXXX View Post
i have run novarossi plus base and picco idm before,they fits nice,except for sirio,i need to do little dremel work on the crancase mounting holes.
Did you have a problem with the crankcase itself? I just tried to fit a RB Matrix but the bottom of the crankcase is too wide because of the cooling fins. Has anyone else tried a RB Matrix in this car?

The OS Speed & Sirio EVO 3 fit perfectly.
Snowy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 01:39 PM   #2268
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 740
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Snowy,

I'm running an RB Matrix and I know at least another two guys that are. Although it is a tight fit they do go in without any mods.

Try having all the screws loose, fit the engine and then tighten them up. I didn't think it was going to fit either but after loosening the screws it worked.

Great combination by the way!

Good Luck.
CDS70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 03:14 AM   #2269
Tech Adept
 
S710_Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 229
Default

Hi

I have a question... If i was to put a JLR Ret Dot into the NT1, do i need to make any changes to the collet or anyting for the clutch? And do i use the Xray collet or the one that comes with the engine?

Thank you in advance
S710_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 09:13 AM   #2270
Tech Fanatic
 
Osiris 75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Converse, TX
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S710_Nut View Post
Hi

I have a question... If i was to put a JLR Ret Dot into the NT1, do i need to make any changes to the collet or anyting for the clutch? And do i use the Xray collet or the one that comes with the engine?

Thank you in advance

You can use the one that comes with the engine, but you will have to sand it down about 1mm, or you can just get the Picco one Xray sells!
__________________
SPONSORS: AWESOMATIX USA / HOBBYWING USA / AVID CONCEPTS / R1 WURKS / POWERMASTER FUELS (VP RACING) / 2MM DESIGNS
RC TARGET/CAPRICORN USA / REFLEX RACING / ULTI TIRES

Chris Kemper
Osiris 75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 12:14 AM   #2271
Tech Adept
 
S710_Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 229
Default

Thank you for the reply... what length should the collet be then? I currently have the JLR in a 2nd hand car i bought, so i am not sure if it is the engine collet or something different.

Maybe it would be easier to install my STS into the NT1
S710_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 04:29 PM   #2272
Tech Fanatic
 
Osiris 75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Converse, TX
Posts: 828
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S710_Nut View Post
Thank you for the reply... what length should the collet be then? I currently have the JLR in a 2nd hand car i bought, so i am not sure if it is the engine collet or something different.

Maybe it would be easier to install my STS into the NT1

I'm not sure what the size is, but you can buy one from nexus racing. The STS may be the quick fix for now!!
__________________
SPONSORS: AWESOMATIX USA / HOBBYWING USA / AVID CONCEPTS / R1 WURKS / POWERMASTER FUELS (VP RACING) / 2MM DESIGNS
RC TARGET/CAPRICORN USA / REFLEX RACING / ULTI TIRES

Chris Kemper
Osiris 75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 01:12 AM   #2273
Tech Champion
 
MAVICXXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: KL
Posts: 6,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowy View Post
Did you have a problem with the crankcase itself? I just tried to fit a RB Matrix but the bottom of the crankcase is too wide because of the cooling fins. Has anyone else tried a RB Matrix in this car?

The OS Speed & Sirio EVO 3 fit perfectly.
sorry friend,have not came across this engine before,but i have friends running the matrix engine,they didnt discuz this with me and was running quite well.i heard its the same base as sirio,more alike sounds and internally similar.
MAVICXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 12:04 PM   #2274
Tech Fanatic
 
kaotickc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowy View Post
Did you have a problem with the crankcase itself? I just tried to fit a RB Matrix but the bottom of the crankcase is too wide because of the cooling fins. Has anyone else tried a RB Matrix in this car?

The OS Speed & Sirio EVO 3 fit perfectly.
If you measure the inside of your engine mounts, its 25.5mm width and if look at sirio based motors, their width is 26mm. Now they will fit, it will just be a tight fit where most O.S.-Picco-Nova based are 25.5mm so they fit perfectly.
kaotickc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 07:55 PM   #2275
Tech Apprentice
 
Undies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 98
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Brakes Screws

Hi

Just wondered if the manual is correct with screwing the screws all the way into be flush with the bulkhead? Doesn't leave alot of room for brake disc?
Undies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 10:37 PM   #2276
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S710_Nut View Post
Hi

I have a question... If i was to put a JLR Ret Dot into the NT1, do i need to make any changes to the collet or anyting for the clutch? And do i use the Xray collet or the one that comes with the engine?

Thank you in advance
I put the Red Dot in mine and used the stock collet without any problems (the Xray one was not available then). I'm not sure why Osiris had to grind his...maybe there are different types out there?
__________________
NEXUSRACING.com
Nexus Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 06:41 AM   #2277
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Posts: 478
Send a message via ICQ to _cyclops_
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undies View Post
Hi

Just wondered if the manual is correct with screwing the screws all the way into be flush with the bulkhead? Doesn't leave alot of room for brake disc?
Try it... you will find that there's no place for the brake disk anymore...
Screwing them flush leaves to little space (at least, that's what happend here)

Just make sure the axle is moving freely with the brake in natural position and with as less play as possible before the brake initializes...
_cyclops_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 12:14 AM   #2278
Tech Fanatic
 
Z-Mann's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 998
Default

does the ufo 2 clutch work on the nt1???
Z-Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 12:39 AM   #2279
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z-Mann View Post
does the ufo 2 clutch work on the nt1???
Do you want to get shot ?
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 09:47 AM   #2280
Tech Addict
 
joebiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Adelaide, SA
Posts: 670
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys , just like to ask if anyone is using the " Xray NT1 Composite Front Holder For Personal Transponder" ? and if possible share some pics of it installed in the car, coz I have one and not sure how its attached ..
joebiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS - NEW !!!! XRAY NT18T and XRAY NT18 plus HUDY micro truck starter box w/ battery Omarko Australia For Sale/Trade 2 06-25-2008 08:47 PM
Xray T2, Brushed Motor Combo, Setup Tools, Xray Springs, Bodies etc... GroffBall R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 09-23-2007 08:53 PM
WTB: NIB Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A Australia Wanted to Buy 4 01-02-2007 03:30 PM
WTB: Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 12-30-2006 03:26 PM
XRAY sedan spring kit / XRAY multi-diff / PRS 114t spur / RR 64p pinions / Stratus evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 12-19-2006 09:33 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:31 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net