R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2002, 07:48 PM   #136
Tech Regular
 
carpet_killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: k town,tn.
Posts: 260
Default 71dsp (reply)

thanks for all the info billy, i will give you a shout i am going to try the stock first then if i think its missing something i will give you a shout. and thanks for the part hopup lay out. but hey, if i got the serpent centax clutch, do i also need to get the serpent 2 speed trany as well or will the yok stok 2 speed work? thanks man.
carpet_killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2002, 08:23 PM   #137
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 35
Default

I don't have the Serpent Centax yet (it's on the way), but the pinions are spaced like the gears on the 2 speed, so my initial answer would be no, you can't use it with the stock 2 speed. If there is a way to space the pinions closer, then you might be able to use it. If you're going that far with the clutch, I would just spend a few extra bucks and get the tranny as well.
71dsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2002, 10:41 PM   #138
Tech Regular
 
carpet_killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: k town,tn.
Posts: 260
Default re:

the serpent centax clutch and 2 speed and trany is a little mor than i was thinking right now. but just out of woundering, will the mugen centax clutch work with the gt4 without having to change the 2 speed trany and such? just woundering. it has been about 6 years since i had a nitro touring car. thanks for the help.
carpet_killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2002, 10:54 PM   #139
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,407
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Yes, the Mugen Centax works well with the stock 2 speed. It can't be used with the Serpent transmission as Billy stated.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2002, 12:03 AM   #140
Tech Regular
 
carpet_killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: k town,tn.
Posts: 260
Default re:

good. i save and get the mugen centax from speedtechrc then.thanks
carpet_killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2002, 12:36 AM   #141
Tech Regular
 
carpet_killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: k town,tn.
Posts: 260
Default ? on steering servo

what kind of torque do i need in a servo for steering for nitro.and does the gt4 use a servo saver or servo horn for steering. i can find clear enough pics to find out. thanks
carpet_killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2002, 01:00 AM   #142
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,407
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

The GT4 has direct link steering with a servo saver. Generally, if its direct link, you'll want to go metal geared since its easier to damage the servo in crashes.

Go for a high speed servo with something faster than .15 and over 50 ounces of torque at 6V should be sufficient. I use a Futaba 9402 for steering. A bit overkill in the torque department but I like it a lot.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2002, 04:28 AM   #143
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 35
Default

I just got a great deal on two Futaba S9450s, so I have a pair of S9402s that I would be willing to sell. They were only used a couple of times, and they are in brand new condition. 0.09 seconds (60 degrees) and 111 oz/in at 6V. More specs are at:

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...1&I=LXH305&P=7

Let me know if you're interested in one or both of them.

Last edited by 71dsp; 02-04-2002 at 09:38 AM.
71dsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 09:22 AM   #144
Tech Master
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to rod_b
Default

71dsp - you have PM
rod_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 09:31 AM   #145
Tech Master
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to rod_b
Default

Does anyone know how much longer the new shock bodies are? I have a set of new V-One R shocks that I want to put on the car but they are a few milimeters longer. I know it's blasphemous to put Kyosho shocks on my GT4 but they just work so smoothly.
rod_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 09:39 AM   #146
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rod_b
71dsp - you have PM
I replied.
71dsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 03:30 PM   #147
Tech Regular
 
carpet_killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: k town,tn.
Posts: 260
tuned pipe info needed

i am woundering on which pipe to get to put with my mt12 engine. either the rb concepts x12 pipe, or yokomo pipe, or novarossi pipe. which is better or is there that much difference? thanks
carpet_killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 03:52 PM   #148
Tech Master
 
rod_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Covina CA
Posts: 1,033
Send a message via AIM to rod_b
Default

The RB and Nova pipe are the same. I think the RB in general sells for less. I have the Yokomo pipe which looks exactly like the other 2 with the exception that it is a bit shorter. Any of the 3 are gonna work well with the MT12.
rod_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 06:34 PM   #149
Tech Regular
 
carpet_killa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: k town,tn.
Posts: 260
Default what comes in kit

what springs,diff lube weight, and shock oil weightcomes in the gt4 kit.i just ordered my pipe i got the 1 peice rb concepts x12 from ace hobbies this evening.
carpet_killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2002, 09:33 PM   #150
Tech Master
 
Ah10's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Pasadena/Southern California
Posts: 1,370
Send a message via ICQ to Ah10 Send a message via AIM to Ah10 Send a message via Yahoo to Ah10
Default Re: tuned pipe info needed

Quote:
Originally posted by carpet_killa
i am woundering on which pipe to get to put with my mt12 engine. either the rb concepts x12 pipe, or yokomo pipe, or novarossi pipe. which is better or is there that much difference? thanks
Here are a few item numbers on Novarossi pipes, hope it helps!

51601: high speed pipe
51602: high torque pipe
51603: in between the above 2
50220: Now this one is the good shxt, in fact I was told this is for .15 size engine, but from the way it looks, on the mid section is a little bit smaller in diameter than 51603 but the end towards the tip is tapered in. I got one for myself and I am going to try it out may be next week!
Ah10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yokomo or yokomo parts yokomo7 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-19-2009 08:45 PM
Yokomo is coming out with a new version of the bd : Yokomo BD 2 roadrashracing Electric On-Road 12 12-19-2007 07:08 AM
yokomo Aluminum Steering Bellcrank Posts and other yokomo spares hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-27-2006 06:07 PM
Lots FS: CRC 3.2 & Yokomo YRX-12, Yokomo TC Tires, JR Receivers, New Motors, more TurboFC3S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 09-22-2005 09:38 PM
WTB Yokomo 1/12 Mini...Trade for 1/10 Yokomo dynamic_e R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-12-2003 05:58 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:54 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net