R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-12-2006, 10:55 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
movingparts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Makati
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Would you use this kind of servo on ur Nitro?

This is a very cheap servo, i think its around 25$ Im planning to use this on my G4, if anybody here owns this model, pls share your comments...the good and the bad side...thanks!

O, here is the link and specs of the servo

and a pic...
Attached Thumbnails
Would you use this kind of servo on ur Nitro?-tr51516.jpg  
movingparts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 11:21 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
Serpentd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Evans, CO. USA
Posts: 798
Default

I heard...only heard that this is a very sloooow servo regardless of their specs. Do your research and be careful. Worse case is you have a slow 25 dollar servo for throttle or a bashing car. I don't think I would use it for "racing" applications. Maybe look into Hitech or the JR sport version servos if your on a budget. Both reputable companies with good products.
__________________
Blessed are the SIC
Serpentd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 12:16 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

You would be better off with a entry level Futaba 3003 on your G4 than the servo in question.
For budget minded guys teh Futaba s3010 and s3305 are good value for money.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 12:31 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Car Breaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Grave Yard
Posts: 1,261
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I have 1 of that, it tend to shake when your finger is release from trigger like a motion feeback, not something you want in a RC car
__________________
Xray X12 2015
ARC R10 ATS
Car Breaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 04:24 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
fritzD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to fritzD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor
You would be better off with a entry level Futaba 3003 on your G4 than the servo in question.
For budget minded guys teh Futaba s3010 and s3305 are good value for money.
i agree... i started out with s3003 servos until i was able to save for some futaba s9451 servos. They held very well.
fritzD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 04:32 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
charlesd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 242
Default

If you want another suggestion:

http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/produc...ducts_id=15940

I've been using this as my steering servo in my g4 for the last year and have not had any problems.
charlesd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 05:07 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Hey Charles, i tried that servo in my yokomo, was great till one day just did not work anymore, smelt bad inside and was burnt out. im using integy servo from the team. very happy with it and tons of torque. and speed rated the same but probably a bit more true in speed than the others, ive tried them both, and i would suggest you got through the team the next time you need a replacement .
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 05:27 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
doki_doki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cebu City, Philippines and Ocala, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,840
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i would suggest that you get the futaba s9351 or the s9451 digital servos
doki_doki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 05:48 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

just that these servos mentioned are a fraction of the cost of digital servo, thats all.
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 10:29 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

I hear you on the cost factor, but I have 2 blue birds and I will not purchase these again. It was a waste of money, they do not work, they shake, do not return to center, etc....
bvoltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 12:30 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
charlesd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 242
Default

I guess i've been lucky so far. It's true that the racing season here in quebec is very short so i may in be for a surprise later
charlesd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 01:20 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
[[john]]'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I know several people that use these servo's, Never as a steering just as the throttle servo, and they've never had a problem, I Have one kept as a spare in my pitbox, Which luckily enough i have never had to use
[[john]] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 09:45 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
movingparts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Makati
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys!

This servo has proven us wrong then...ill be better of with high end servos!!!
movingparts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 12:17 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
movingparts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Makati
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlesd
If you want another suggestion:

http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/produc...ducts_id=15940

I've been using this as my steering servo in my g4 for the last year and have not had any problems.
thanks charles!

This servo is much cheaper! Im going to have a couple of this for back up then!
movingparts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 12:28 AM   #15
Tech Adept
 
VoneS3Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 127
Send a message via MSN to VoneS3Kid
Default

Go for either the Team JR DS 8455 or DS 8715..They are awesome servo's..u get what you pay for!
__________________
Team Xray/HUDY/Custom Model cars/HEI International/Fantom/Much-More/JACO/Kelletts Hobbies/Max Power/Ko Propo.
VoneS3Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would you use this kind of servo? movingparts Electric On-Road 4 11-13-2006 04:15 AM
looking for any kind of nitro rc lilizards2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 07-13-2006 04:14 PM
wtb nitro roller, any kind biggy_3 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 05-30-2005 11:55 AM
what kind of servo for 12th scale? please help! stormperson Electric On-Road 7 10-16-2001 10:16 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:28 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net