Wiki Posts
Search

newby questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2003, 11:33 AM
Tech Apprentice

Default newby questions

hi people,
Normally i race 12th scale, but i want to be able to race with something this summer, i have raced electric t/c before, but wanted to try out nitro, i dont have a clue about anything nitro, engiines, clutches, things like that.
I was wanting to buy the schumacher fusion r12, it sais that it comes with a rossi r12 pixy engine, is this a good engine for compoetition use, or should i buy a different engine? What would you reccomend?

I REALLY WANT A FUSION!!, but with my lack of knowledge of nitro, i need u guys to help me out, firstly, what will i need to start the car, and run it? do i need a starter box? what fuel should i use?

How do you run engines in and what are all the screws on the engine for? maybe there is a website with beginner nitro info on it, any links?

I am a good driver and want to compete effectively in nationals.

What sort of servos do i need? high torgue or sped for throttle, steering?

ANY INFO IS GREATLY APPRECITED!
thanks
matt

Old 02-17-2003, 11:45 AM
Tech Apprentice

I've read reviews that stated the Fusion does not handle very well for competition use (if this is the right Fusion car we are talking about, I'm pretty sure it is). It is strictly built for top speed, meaning just bashing around with your budies and drag racing, not real racing.

All the other info your shop should be able to teach you, and see what nitro cars they can supply and support.

But I would recommend a different car than the Fusion, take a look at the popular high performance ones and pick the one with the advantages you like.
Old 02-17-2003, 12:07 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

rice 98

besides the the car kit here are a few items you will
need to get the car up and running.

electronics 2 servos, 1 receiver, and a receiver pack
others. tuned pipe, glow plug igniter, and fuel.