Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
new ofna DM1 pics and thoughts :):) > new ofna DM1 pics and thoughts :):)

new ofna DM1 pics and thoughts :):)

Reply

Old 09-20-2013, 02:06 PM
  #1381  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
bobbyblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,565
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Grenade10 View Post
The chassis cut out is the same as the 1/8 Spec chassis and yes a Kyosho or OFNA 150 tank will fit. IGT Hobbies, has the tanks listed as option parts. They are both not as wide as the stock tank, but taller. Should help miss the front shocks in the laydown position.

Thanks for the information !!!!
on the ofna tank, do I have to drill any holes?
bobbyblaze is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 09:55 AM
  #1382  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,687
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bobbyblaze View Post
Thanks for the information !!!!
on the ofna tank, do I have to drill any holes?
I need to check this, but my memory says that I put a new hole in the tank, and left the standoff in the same place on the chassis.
Grenade10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 08:02 AM
  #1383  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
bobbyblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,565
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Grenade10 View Post
I need to check this, but my memory says that I put a new hole in the tank, and left the standoff in the same place on the chassis.
appreciate the help with the tank!
bobbyblaze is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:08 PM
  #1384  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,687
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

New shipment of carbon parts arrived over the weekend. So I have a new stock of Shock towers and gear box spacers. Also in the parts are the newly designed stand up servo mounts. This will stand up both the steering and throttle servo to take out the play from the stock linkage and help with better weight distribution and steering.

I'll get it mounted in my set up chassis and take a picture later today, but I know a few racers have been asking when I was going to have it available. Cost is $26 and should be on the web site later this week. If you want one quickly, PM me here on RCTech and we can get one coming your way.

Mark
Grenade10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:38 PM
  #1385  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,687
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Here is a picture of the servo mount in my test chassis.

Love it when everything works .......

You may need to trim the top of the receiver box. The brake / throttle servo is supported by the receiver box, one screew goes through the servo. The steering servo also sits on top of a post as well.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
DM1 Servo Mount.pdf (272.0 KB, 94 views)
Grenade10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:54 PM
  #1386  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
bobbyblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,565
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Grenade10 View Post
Here is a picture of the servo mount in my test chassis.

Love it when everything works .......

You may need to trim the top of the receiver box. The brake / throttle servo is supported by the receiver box, one screew goes through the servo. The steering servo also sits on top of a post as well.
looks good
bobbyblaze is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 08:56 PM
  #1387  
Tech Master
iTrader: (57)
 
DRRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,505
Trader Rating: 57 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Grenade10 View Post
Here is a picture of the servo mount in my test chassis.

Love it when everything works .......

You may need to trim the top of the receiver box. The brake / throttle servo is supported by the receiver box, one screew goes through the servo. The steering servo also sits on top of a post as well.
Nice cut
I noticed there was no holes for the reciever box

Grenade Can you post your latest set up
Thanks
DRRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 09:14 AM
  #1388  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,687
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DRRC View Post
Nice cut
I noticed there was no holes for the reciever box
Well not totally true. I like not adding fasteners just to have them. So if you look at the servo slots, the inside one for the brake / throttle is lined uped with the receiver box.

The same goes for the steering servo also lines up.

Loose 2ea 3mm screws from the car that are up in the air........
Grenade10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 04:51 PM
  #1389  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Max173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: N.Y.C.
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone have a kings headz chassis for DM1 spec for sale? or can someone tell me were to buy one. I will even buy the carbon chassis for the DM1 spec.
Max173 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 06:59 PM
  #1390  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,687
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Max173 View Post
Does anyone have a kings headz chassis for DM1 spec for sale? or can someone tell me were to buy one. I will even buy the carbon chassis for the DM1 spec.
I've been looking for almost a year and not much luck. I have talked to them and they will run them for me but I have to purchase 20+ to make it happen.

So who wants one / two / three ........

PM me

Or I'd take a used or new King Headz chassis as well ...... Max 173 I've been running one for most of this season, and it works on tracks with traction very well.

Last edited by Grenade10; 10-07-2013 at 07:15 PM.
Grenade10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 07:06 PM
  #1391  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,687
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I would stay away from the carbon chassis, as it does not cool as well. The best one has a pretty unique motor mount. However the front bumper mount breaks the chassis. I was looking at a way to brace the front, but required machining a new front hinge pin holder.

My opinions ......

Mark
Grenade10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 08:00 AM
  #1392  
Tech Master
iTrader: (57)
 
DRRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,505
Trader Rating: 57 (98%+)
Default

I like the CF because it feels more planted, maybe because of the flex especially in the corners

Here is a plate I made that is screwed to the front aluminum pin holder
Yes my CF frayed at the bumper area after a big hit


And the baby that may be on it
Thanks to Uriah

Originally Posted by Grenade10 View Post
I would stay away from the carbon chassis, as it does not cool as well. The best one has a pretty unique motor mount. However the front bumper mount breaks the chassis. I was looking at a way to brace the front, but required machining a new front hinge pin holder.

My opinions ......

Mark
Attached Thumbnails new ofna DM1 pics and thoughts :):)-image.jpg  
DRRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 08:05 AM
  #1393  
Tech Master
iTrader: (57)
 
DRRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,505
Trader Rating: 57 (98%+)
Default

Pic
Attached Thumbnails new ofna DM1 pics and thoughts :):)-image.jpg  
DRRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 04:53 PM
  #1394  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
Grenade10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 4,687
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DRRC View Post
Pic
I was thinking similar, but under the gear box, so it would spread the load out.

Flex in the chassis is less than the stock 6061, more than the King Headz 7075.

As for Murnan Engines I've been running them for 6+ years and have 3 different ones in my box. GREAT POWER and reliability.
Grenade10 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 05:28 PM
  #1395  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Max173's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: N.Y.C.
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Grenade10 View Post
I've been looking for almost a year and not much luck. I have talked to them and they will run them for me but I have to purchase 20+ to make it happen.

So who wants one / two / three ........

PM me

Or I'd take a used or new King Headz chassis as well ...... Max 173 I've been running one for most of this season, and it works on tracks with traction very well.
You might have a better chance getting a few carbon chassis made, Then you can make the front plate to strengthen the front of the chassis and sell them to us as an upgrade.
Max173 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service