R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2006, 10:01 PM   #1
TPB
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NZ
Posts: 30
Engine Break-In Stand

Do any of you use a engine break in stand as a engine test bench?
I want to use one as a engine test bench to get tune etc before putting on the track, what do you think?
TPB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2006, 10:16 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
richey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 1,280
Send a message via MSN to richey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TPB
Do any of you use a engine break in stand as a engine test bench?
I want to use one as a engine test bench to get tune etc before putting on the track, what do you think?
The break in stand is not designed to tune a motor before you run it on the track it is designed to put load on a motor while you run it. This will not be anywhere close to the tune you will need when you run the car on the track
__________________
Silver Bowl Raceway Operator
www.TeamTaylorRacing.net
Byron's Fuel, Airtronics
JoshStevensFoundation.org
richey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 01:35 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TPB
Do any of you use a engine break in stand as a engine test bench?
I want to use one as a engine test bench to get tune etc before putting on the track, what do you think?
Erm.. not feasible. Like wat richey has said. U better put onto your car and tune it to suit your kit n race
Black_Widow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 01:54 AM   #4
TPB
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NZ
Posts: 30
Default

All I want to use it for is to test to see if engines run and get a basic tune on them, also to try and replicate some run-on issues. What do you think?
TPB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 11:19 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,148
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TPB
All I want to use it for is to test to see if engines run and get a basic tune on them, also to try and replicate some run-on issues. What do you think?

You can get a very basic tune on the bench.. Put it in your car to do the actual tuning. The load factor, the heat etc... If you want to tune your engine put it on the track.
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 12:30 PM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Evil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 5
Default

If you want a basic tune bolt a prop on it as the load,it also offers some cooling as well.
Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 02:44 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,148
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

I already use a prop on the break in stand.. I tune my engine enough to run on the bench, but I still have to tune the engine in the car.
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 10:38 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Lil Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 265
Default TEMP

I used the bench on many engines, and I did not like it because the prop did not allow the engine temps to raise to what I think is a good break-in temp much more a tuning temp. Not getting the temps up, and trying to tune a motor will yield nothing but headaches. I tried wrapping the head with Foil paper, but like the other guys said, just do it in the car. A good compromise, is in the car on the starter box. I do this sometimes just to get into the range of where the engine needs to be for that day, but in the end I still tune on the track.
Lil Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 11:03 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
richey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 1,280
Send a message via MSN to richey
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lil Paul
I used the bench on many engines, and I did not like it because the prop did not allow the engine temps to raise to what I think is a good break-in temp much more a tuning temp. Not getting the temps up, and trying to tune a motor will yield nothing but headaches. I tried wrapping the head with Foil paper, but like the other guys said, just do it in the car. A good compromise, is in the car on the starter box. I do this sometimes just to get into the range of where the engine needs to be for that day, but in the end I still tune on the track.
Wrap a shop towel around the head in a manner that you can get your temp gun in to the top to temp the motor. I have been using a break in stand for years and have had great luck breaking in motors this way.It is a major time and headache saver.
__________________
Silver Bowl Raceway Operator
www.TeamTaylorRacing.net
Byron's Fuel, Airtronics
JoshStevensFoundation.org
richey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB Engine break in stand stimcon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 08-30-2006 08:51 PM
WTB: Engine break-in stand FastEddy R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-27-2006 12:49 PM
engine break in stand sand geek R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 05-18-2006 07:26 AM
Nanda Engine Break In Stand click, dublin Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 17 12-30-2005 10:44 AM
Nitro Engine Break-in stand rodneybarrett R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 01-21-2004 09:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:02 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net