R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-19-2006, 08:06 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 34
Default Pressure Chamber what is it for???

Guys,

I have seen On Road 1/10 1/8 with a pressure chamber from the tank to the pipe, what is it for or am I mistaken that, that is a filter.
BeBop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 08:14 PM   #2
Tech Apprentice
 
budachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Prolly just a fuel filter , either for show or some people believe it helps to regulate and even out the backpressure. True or not , I can't say.
budachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 08:29 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
fastharry™'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mahwah, NJ.. USA!! ..... Home of http://www.fastharry.com
Posts: 2,846
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fastharry™
Default

you're mistaken,its not a filter...

__________________
www.fastharry.com---search "fastharry" on facebook
See Fastharry in Super Nitro racing at the HPI CHALLENGE...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzo-cBEnE0c
fastharry™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 09:25 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
duneland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NW Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,403
Default

The pressure from the exhaust is pulsed. Adding length to the line smooths out those pulses to provide a more even pressure supply. The pressure chamber does the same but without reducing pressure and uses less fuel line.
duneland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 10:52 PM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 34
Default

I have the MTX-4 and dont know where to put it how did you mount your Pressure Chamber on your car, did you drill a hole in the upper deck or something? As far as I know there is no hole in the middle of the upper deck. How did you do it?
BeBop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 01:00 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeBop
I have the MTX-4 and dont know where to put it how did you mount your Pressure Chamber on your car, did you drill a hole in the upper deck or something? As far as I know there is no hole in the middle of the upper deck. How did you do it?
Here's a pic of the MTX4 with one :-

http://www.rctech.net/forum/attachme...hmentid=176815
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 05:50 AM   #7
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

You can throw a tiny one on there or a big one. You can mount or not , it all depends on what you see or think. Will it fall off etc.

Id think the bigger ones might need some tying down. The small ones , like dubro you can just toss those on towards the gas tank and it should stay put no problems.

Also the reduction in pulses provides less bubbling in your tank, which helps protect against going lean from that. Which screws tuning up bigtime.

If I normally need a smoother pulse , I just run about 8inches in and 8inches out. This gives it long line for gas , so flip overs dont ruin your day. And 8inches in so it doesnt push so hard into the tank. Its kinda long but a wrap or two around the car handle and it tucks in nicely.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 06:06 AM   #8
ira
Tech Fanatic
 
ira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Olathe, KS.
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I use 9 to 9.5 inches on all of my cars, no problem with tuning.
__________________
RC AMERICA, XRAY, FUTABA, O.S. ENGINES, BYRON FUELS, SPEEDWORLD RACEWAY, HOBBICO, MATRIX TIRES...
ira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 08:25 AM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cambridge,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 213
Default

The mugen large pressure chamber is the best, i have found that it improves acceleration and it comes with the mount so it sits neatly on the chassis.
id compare it to a high end sound system, the larger the capacitor, the better the sound or clarity.the power is always there when you need it most.
ie.. coming out of a corner after the car has gone through a series of tight turns.Keep in mind, the difference is very slight, but its enough to notice.
AKSHUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
back pressure effect on performance, mileage, - max power back pressure adjustment tomkelley Nitro On-Road 4 07-31-2008 05:12 AM
Mugen pressure chamber set ??? rookie696 Nitro On-Road 9 04-24-2008 10:57 AM
Pressure Chamber on TCs implusepro Nitro On-Road 17 01-01-2008 10:05 PM
Pressure chamber TRAJ Nitro On-Road 12 02-05-2005 04:58 AM
where should the pressure line go? smidge Nitro On-Road 1 12-26-2004 08:30 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:00 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net