R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-09-2003, 09:34 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
GP40X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 720
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Recommendation for a failsafe

I should be getting my Nitro TC3 RTR next week. I need recommendations for a good failsafe. I'm on a budget right now & can't swing a better radio with a built-in failsafe. I'll be upgrading to a 75mhz radio with both throttle & steering epa's as soon as I can but a high end radio is out at least for a while. What failsafes are you running? I want one that will work with the Ace Jaguar radio right now & an Airtronics, Hitech, or JR Racing radio later. TIA

Bill
GP40X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 11:07 PM   #2
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

You can try the one from Venom. Pretty good. It also acts as a battery checker and the fail safe kicks in on the throttle when the receiver pack is getting weak.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 11:48 PM   #3
JUN
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 108
Default

Most of the guys i raced with that didn't have a pcm radio were using the KO fail safe,never gave them any problems.If you're going to get a JR R1 radio later on get the pcm model it has built in failsafe.
JUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 07:27 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Turbo9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 783
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

A standalone unit I use it the dynamite failsafe. It has an LED indicator. its pretty small too. and very easy to use.
Turbo9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 09:22 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
torchedlh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sf, cali
Posts: 413
Send a message via AIM to torchedlh
Default

i don't believe dynamite failsafes work with airtronics radios...anyway just get the failsafe that's cheapeset...i have an XTM that i got for $20 and my LHS, and i imagine that the Venom would be a bit more....
torchedlh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 09:43 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Turbo9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 783
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Ive used it with an M8
Turbo9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 10:26 AM   #7
Tech Chat Moderator
 
TheRagunCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Swamps of Louisiana
Posts: 266
Default

Throttle return spring(trs). Trs are only about 1$ a piece and work great. It doesn't take battery power to use. All you do is hook it up ffrom the throttle arm to the engine head. That way when u loose power, it goes back to idle.
__________________
Wow these forums have gotten popular since 02!

Last edited by TheRagunCajun; 02-11-2003 at 09:21 PM.
TheRagunCajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 12:00 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Racing4Evo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,118
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Racing4Evo
Default

DO NOT GET A Venom Failsafe. Both my friend and I bought one and they broke the moment we got them. They have never been out on to the track or put on a running car. I was very dissapointed and will never buy another product from Venom. Make sure you buy a KO or Futaba version.
Racing4Evo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 12:57 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Turbo9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 783
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheRagunCajun
Throttle return spring(trs). Trs are only about 1$ a piece and work great. It doesn't take battery power to use. All you do is hook it up ffrom the throttle arm to the engine head. That way when u loose power, it goes back to idle.
Also a very good Idea... I use both this method and a failsafe unit(call me crazy). If your connectors foul up or a cut in the battery wires occurs then all bets are off with an electronic failsafe.
Turbo9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 01:03 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
torchedlh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sf, cali
Posts: 413
Send a message via AIM to torchedlh
Default

i also use both. the failsafe protects from radio interference, rx low battery, and tx low battery. the TRS closes the carb if the servo linkage pops off the carb arm.
torchedlh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 01:06 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: TEXAS. USA
Posts: 1,219
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Cool FAILSAFE

A RUBBER-BAN AROUND THE THROTTLE.


Or get a radio with a built-in failsafe (PCM).
PUNISHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 02:45 PM   #12
Tech Chat Moderator
 
TheRagunCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Swamps of Louisiana
Posts: 266
Default

Thanx for agreeing about the trs. It does move the throttle linkage, but u want it on the throttle arm to the head. That way of linkage pops off, it still closes. My engine fell off my car once(dont ask) and since it was mounted like that it went back to and idle.

Punisher is correct about the rubber band. They are very very cheap and all you do is wrap it around the carb like he said. A $2 bag will last and last.
__________________
Wow these forums have gotten popular since 02!

Last edited by TheRagunCajun; 02-11-2003 at 09:20 PM.
TheRagunCajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 03:00 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 679
Default

I also use a throttle return spring and a failsafe (KoPropo) on my onroad cars. I've used the rubber bands around the throttle barrel (slide carbs), but I found they did not last long because of the nitro eating through them. They worked well, but if I didn't remember to change it at the beginning of a race day, it disintegrated by the end of the day. It was just one more thing for me to keep up with. You can set up a TRS so that it connects to the throttle arm of the carb. It takes some work to find a good spot to mount the other end, but can be done. The only bad thing about a TRS is that you have to find the perfect spring for your application. It has to be the right length, strong enough to pull the servo closed, but not so strong it burns the servo out.

I've also used the KTM failsafe which worked well. I just didn't like the size. The Ko is much smaller.

GOOD LUCK!!!
tekrsq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 03:08 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Recommendation for a failsafe

For slide carbs, a good throttle return spring mounted on the servo arm AND a rubber band around the carb slide is the safest method.
An Electronic failsafe will NOT stop a runaway if your linkage pops off and tension from the rubber boot holds the slide open. (had it happen)

For Rotary carbs, a return spring alone should be sufficient on the carb throttle lever.

FYI:
Team Losi has a very good Throttle return spring kit for less than $5 usd and comes with two springs and brackets to a package.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommendation on which ESC to use conquer35 Rookie Zone 4 06-21-2008 09:31 PM
Need a recommendation Potter Micro and Mini Scales 20 07-07-2007 06:45 AM
Pipe recommendation wario69 Nitro On-Road 6 04-14-2007 01:56 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:36 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net