R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2006, 02:54 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Angry HELP!!!!!

Hey guys i have always wanted a nitro car for 2 years and now i finally got one but i have some little things wrong with it

1. i have been trying to tune it in for 2 weeks now. no success
2. i have heaps of petrol coming out of the exhaust when i push thottle on? is that a problem or normal?
3.steering no matter wat i do i cant get both wheels straight.
4.my idle! also i cant get that right eatha.

If e n of uz could help it would be much appeciated.


Cheers Troy
Holdenluva001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 04:07 AM   #2
Tech Apprentice
 
ViperSkull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 77
Default

1. All that petrol comming out of your exhaust would mean your running your engine to rich. So turn the top needle (HSN) in a bit, but only a bit at a time (bout an 1/8th, no more than 1/4 at a time then drive for a bit before going in further). Outwards richer, Inwards Leaner.
2.You can't get both straight as in you can't drive in a straight line or you mean one wheel is straight and the other is pointing in or out.
3. Getting your Idle tuned, theres a little tiny screw that sits next to the HSN that you turn in or out, out to lower the idle, in to make it idle higher.

Any other questions, feel free to ask
__________________
BRCCC Wynnum
Mugen MTX4-R/Novarossi Max Power/Mugen Pipe/Futaba 3PK/Spektrum HRS System

*For Sale, CT4S with a heap of parts*
ViperSkull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 04:23 AM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Hey thanks for them tips ill try them tomorro.

yer one wheel is straight and the otha is pointing in.

but for some reason everytime i brake the engine stalls. i think that is to do with the idle aint it?

plus i put full throttle on and let go the car tends to slide right but also i think that might do with that steering problem!


Cheers Troy
Holdenluva001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 05:51 AM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
ViperSkull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 77
Default

To fix the wheels, check your toe in and camber. Your toe in might be a problem. Yep the reason why your engine is stalling when you apply the brakes is because of your idle, work with the idle screw first then do some small adjustments with the throttle trim on your Transmitter if you need to make a few minor adjustments. With you problem with car sliding to the right, it could be to do with your wheels not being straight, or maybe something in your car is locking, Also check to see if your shock springs are fine. That they are both even and you don't have uneven droop or ride height.
__________________
BRCCC Wynnum
Mugen MTX4-R/Novarossi Max Power/Mugen Pipe/Futaba 3PK/Spektrum HRS System

*For Sale, CT4S with a heap of parts*
ViperSkull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 06:02 AM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Default

alrite will try n check that tomorro.

n ill write how i go.
Holdenluva001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 07:37 AM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Thedub88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holdenluva001
but for some reason everytime i brake the engine stalls. i think that is to do with the idle aint it?

Cheers Troy
no. You didn't say what car you have, but in my HPI RS4 3 it uses two servo horns with a spring on one servo for the brake and throttle. When I first got this car, the horns were not on correctly at ldle position. At idle, the throttle arm on the engine wasn't all the way back (for idle). This caused it to constintly give some gas which made the wheels spin like crazy, so I lowered the idle to compinsate. when I put on the brakes the servo arm did go back to idle position causing it to stall because I lowered the idle.

The point of my rambling: Before you adjust the idle or anything else on the engine, with the radio and reciever on, make sure the throtle arm on the engine is all the way back to idle position when at idle and when you apply the brakes.

On my car I noticed when the screw for the two servo horns is too tight, they both move together, which gives the engine gas after you apply the brakes. This is what happend to me but didn't realize it untill after it was stalling when i hit the brakes. Make sure this isn't happening to you
Thedub88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 08:13 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
Thedub88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Default

heres some pics of what I mean
Attached Thumbnails
HELP!!!!!-dsc01891.jpg   HELP!!!!!-dsc01892.jpg  
Thedub88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 01:00 AM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Default

i have a holden maloo clubsport R8 ute if that is e n help to u all.

i have a GV BV-1 chassis.

Last edited by Holdenluva001; 10-04-2006 at 01:21 AM.
Holdenluva001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 01:06 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Nitro$junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 1,420
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Nitro$junkie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holdenluva001
i have a holden maloo clubsport R8 ute if that is e n help to u all.

my bad i thought you ment your real car
__________________
Futaba
Mugen
Novarossi
Byron's
http://www.hospitalrecords.com

Last edited by Nitro$junkie; 10-04-2006 at 02:09 AM.
Nitro$junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 01:48 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
smostyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southport
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 9 (91%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitro$junkie
where should i send the throphy

wanker

It would seem that Holdenluva001 has a BV1 RTR. They come will all sorts of shells, Fords, Holdens and yes, even a maloo clubsport R8 ute. I dont think he was being a smart @rse. I think he was answering the best he knew how.
Good to see you were trying to help out though.
smostyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 02:20 AM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Default

hey viperskull,

Tried fixing it again today and it didnt change . tho when i start it the wheels turn without pressing the throttle. then the glow starter lost charge so itz on charge now.
Holdenluva001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 02:52 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Orfeous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Umeň, Sweden
Posts: 293
Send a message via ICQ to Orfeous Send a message via AIM to Orfeous Send a message via MSN to Orfeous Send a message via Yahoo to Orfeous
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holdenluva001
tho when i start it the wheels turn without pressing the throttle. then the glow starter lost charge so itz on charge now.
it might be an radio equipment interrupt.. but its normal that servos are behaving strange when you put the glowdriver to the engine. Metal against metal..
Orfeous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 03:36 AM   #13
Suspended
 
robot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: sydney
Posts: 701
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

if it's the sort of clutch set up i think it is, sounds like a broken spring that holds the shoes closed
robot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 08:27 AM   #14
Tech Initiate
 
Thedub88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robot
if it's the sort of clutch set up i think it is, sounds like a broken spring that holds the shoes closed
This is true. If the spring on the clutch is broken, or the shoes are melted to the bell housing, the clutch will aways grab spinning the wheels.

Take out your engine, then take off the bell housing and inspect the clutch

If clutch is okay, then it still sounds like the throttle arm on the carb isn't at idle position. This will give it gas spinning the wheels, but when you hit the brakes, the throttle arm goes to idle position cutting off the fuel.

If your clutch is good try this: Have a friend hold your radio with full brakes when you start. (From what you said it will not run with the brakes) increase your idle untill it starts, then have your friend let off the brakes (idle position)
if the engine revs up, you know that the throttle arm on the carb isn't in idle position, when your radio is.
Thedub88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 03:13 AM   #15
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Default

okay i managed to get the idle right by using the receiver and the idle needle and doesnt drive automatically, but it still stalls when i brake.
n i was only driving mid thottle now full.

or and i have alot of fuel on the glowplug when i take it out? is that anotha problem


i will get some pictures soon so u can exactly c wat i am talking about.
Holdenluva001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:13 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net