R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 07-18-2006, 09:10 AM   #1
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default 950r front droop problem - can you help?

So I'm fairly new to the 1:8 scene, but I'm hooked for sure.

I'm running a 950r and I ran into a strange problem when setting up front droop.

I can not get 0mm front downstop - the arms (without shocks attached or swaybar connected) will not lay flat on a setup board, they seem to bind.

Looking close at everything, it looks as if the pivotballs are 'hitting' the steering knuckles, not allowing the arms to travel any farther. Strange. With droop screws backed out, the arms rest at about 2-3mm above the chassis.

I could remove some material from the steering knuckle, but concerned it would weaken the knuckle and allow it to pop over the pivot ball.

I would have to think this is something other people have run into...and hopefully solved.

Any suggestions?

thanks...
MRX4-X F180 Cobra Zipper Kart Yokomo BD Cup Racer FM1e Recoil M18 Pro Scalpel dNaNo Baja 5T HB D8 Vorza ERevo Savage Flux SCX10 GT2 T4 Slash Ten SCTE Blitz ESE HB Cyclone D4 Mini ERevo Vendetta ST Mini T Micro T
TC_Tuner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 10:05 AM   #2
Tech Apprentice
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber

What is your front track width? Are your going to the MWS in Chicago this weekend?
rcbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 10:08 AM   #3
Tech Elite

R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Make sure you have the steering knuckles on their correct sides. Left on left and right on right . I've done this before?
POWER MASTER Fuel, 2mm Designs
Protoform Bodies, Avid Bearings, AMR Engines
YBSLOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 10:11 AM   #4
Tech Master

Default WIDTH

Bob - I will need to measure tonight, but I believe front width is about 255.
Yes, I will race MWS this weekend - you?

YB - good suggestion, I will double look for the 4dots tonight!