R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-30-2006, 11:07 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 29
Default What is the HPI DBox

HI,

Who can tell us the detail in formation of HPI Dbox for drift assistant?



Thanks
adsl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 01:49 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

It has a gyroscope inside and it senses when your car starts to slide sideways and countersteers to keep the front wheels pointed in the direction of travel.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 04:39 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
hav_lova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney Model Autosports (SMA)
Posts: 1,387
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone considered its basicly a rebadged futaba gyro. They are like identicle. and futaba gyro is like half the price of d-box. So are they exact the same
__________________
Just playing with bigger toys now...
serpentrc.com.au
hav_lova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 01:02 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hav_lova
Has anyone considered its basicly a rebadged futaba gyro. They are like identicle. and futaba gyro is like half the price of d-box. So are they exact the same
Hmmm....





Nope...just don't see it...

Last edited by Turbo Joe; 06-02-2006 at 10:36 PM.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 12:58 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 100
Default Only for HPI cars???

Can i use it on other model of car like example Kyosho? I'm using FUTABA RX and servo on all my cars. Or is it build specially for HPI cars??

The way i look at it, if it's like a gyro (not sure about this but Gyro system are mostly used in Heli & in that respect, it shouldn't be model brand limited it's a universal system on a wide range of chasis ) it should be able to work with other brand of cars... if the RX and servo are compatible. Can't seem to find any tech notes on this products...

Pls advice

Last edited by stonely0; 09-02-2006 at 11:02 PM.
stonely0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 07:21 PM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
budachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 72
Default



Long lost twins?

And yes , you can use it in any car , not just HPI's. It basically just communicates with your steering servo , and instructions from the receiver and gyro.

But driver aids only make you a passenger. Would be fun to mess about with though , pity about the price.
budachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 10:57 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
hav_lova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney Model Autosports (SMA)
Posts: 1,387
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have confirmation that a futaba Gyro works just as good, so save yourself some money and just buy a gyro
__________________
Just playing with bigger toys now...
serpentrc.com.au
hav_lova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 06:53 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

how much is futaba n oso d d-box ??? can it oso use in Cen racing ???thanks
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 10:26 AM   #9
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,401
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

The Futaba G190 gyro is $62 at TowerHobbies.

I'm thinking about getting one for one of my 2WD onroad nitros. I hear adding a gyro makes it a lot easier to drive and less likely to spin out.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 08:59 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

$62 x 3.5 = rm2xx
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 01:23 AM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Will any gyro do, or do you need the exact one?
Thx
Chwarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:05 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net