Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Upgrades where to start

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2003, 11:11 AM
Tech Rookie

Talking Upgrades where to start

I have a HPI RSR rtr 3. I am just starting out but want to make the car handle better and go faster. What should I start on? New pipe, motor. I am using the stock tires and wheels.
Old 01-19-2003, 12:34 PM
Tech Elite

Default trice_rs4;

Not necessarily in order but;

1) Softer springs for the shocks. HPI #6834 "Yellow" for the Rear and HPI #6835 "Red" for the Front.

2) Better tires will make a tremendous difference at the expense of faster tire wear. If you are racing then tires are a MUST have.

3) The 2spd Transmission will provide better acceleraton and top speed AND your engine will run cooler too. Wait on the Motor and pipe until you absolutely need them (broken, worn out).
Old 01-19-2003, 02:37 PM
Tech Elite

the stock wheels and tires are probably crap - they usually are, and they usually come with crap inserts (foam).

Ask around and find out what the good tire/insert combo is for your track/area, pick up a set and start working from there.

That is what I would do first, and then get your springs (or better yet, both at the same time. . .)

If you get a new motor/pipe, you will be upgrading power which will make your situation worse, not better.
Old 01-19-2003, 06:50 PM
Tech Adept

1) I would go ahead and pick up the HPI alu. threaded shocks. Find out the recommended spring rates from racers at your track.

2) Popsracer is right. A 2 speed will give you better accel. and topend, and your motor will run cooler.

3) Tires, tires, tires. Find out the preferred tire/insert setup at your track.

4) You don't need to get a new motor just yet, if you pick up a 2-needle carb, a bigger cooling head, and the smooth mandrel bent aluminum header from the Type SS, that's plenty of power to learn to race with.
Old 01-19-2003, 07:18 PM
Tech Elite

Default Not to disagree but....

skibum989;