R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-25-2006, 05:48 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default when not using a switch how do run your battery wire setup ?

hello

i just wanted some information on how you guys plug and unplug your receiver wire when not using a switch.

i just plug and unplug the battery in and out of the reciver but this after a wire makes the wires come lose from the end plug.

is their a plug we can put in line or how how servo extension wires ?

thank you
__________________
Serpent 748 TQ | GIMAR Engines
Walter RC HObby | www.walterrchobby.com.au
BlueRC | www.bluerc.net
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 06:12 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: hamilton,ohio
Posts: 357
Default

without a switch there isn't much other you can do except get an extension wire and disconnect at that connection. i would imagine that you will eventually have the same problem after awhile but they are pretty cheap and can be easily replaced.
sedanaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 06:39 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
itchy b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In My Man Cave
Posts: 4,144
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgsr
hello

i just wanted some information on how you guys plug and unplug your receiver wire when not using a switch.

i just plug and unplug the battery in and out of the reciver but this after a wire makes the wires come lose from the end plug.

is their a plug we can put in line or how how servo extension wires ?

thank you
you can also use an extention but change the plugs on the battery lead and the end of the extention lead that connects to the battery to the small deans plugs. i have seen a number of guys using this setup and it works good, and i'll changing to them on my own car very soon too
__________________
-Blitz-Rallyhawk-EX 1.5R-Xpress-P64 Tyrrell-Lotus79-Espirit VTA
EX1.5-SC10 4x4
itchy b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 06:43 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: it's only illegal if you get caught!
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sedanaddict
without a switch there isn't much other you can do except get an extension wire and disconnect at that connection. i would imagine that you will eventually have the same problem after awhile but they are pretty cheap and can be easily replaced.
i use exactly the same setup for atleast a year now and it has not worn out yet.
ae_ntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 06:43 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pole Position
Posts: 3,173
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default

deans plugs are just so tight for the small wires
__________________
Serpent 748 TQ | GIMAR Engines
Walter RC HObby | www.walterrchobby.com.au
BlueRC | www.bluerc.net
mrgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 08:52 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
tomkelley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 592
Default

I use a small deans connector. One side wired to the battery, one side wired to the reciever. The wire coming off the reciever is zip tied down at the deans plug to the radio plate. The key is to get the wire coming off the battery at a nice lenghth and I use heavier 14 or 16 gauge wire. This way the wire is firm in place so you can use one hand to plug and unplug the battery.
__________________
Detroit Radio Control Car Club
www.drccc.org
tomkelley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 09:11 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
richey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 1,280
Send a message via MSN to richey
Default Try this.

Special 12cm Receiver Battery Pack Wire Set (w/mount)
Attached Thumbnails
when not using a switch how do run your battery wire setup ?-battwire.jpg  
__________________
Silver Bowl Raceway Operator
www.TeamTaylorRacing.net
Byron's Fuel, Airtronics
JoshStevensFoundation.org
richey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 10:38 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 134
Default

Those reciever wire sets from Team magic/Kfactory are the only way to go. The bracket mounts the connector in the location for a stock switch. then all you need to do is plug your battery into it. We have sold a pile of those things since they introduced those with the g4s car. They fit any type of car with a standard battery switch hole. The battery wire is sandwiched in the second slot in the bracket so its close to the connector and you just roll it up and plug it in.
Motorman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 10:43 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
itchy b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In My Man Cave
Posts: 4,144
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

hmmm looks like i might be adding a new item onto my shopping list
__________________
-Blitz-Rallyhawk-EX 1.5R-Xpress-P64 Tyrrell-Lotus79-Espirit VTA
EX1.5-SC10 4x4
itchy b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2006, 10:49 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Car Breaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Grave Yard
Posts: 1,261
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richey
Special 12cm Receiver Battery Pack Wire Set (w/mount)

I use that too because I have a G4S

Before that when I drove a 710, I make my own battery packs, I use longer wire, cut in half and solder to Dean's Micro Plug instead of using extension or switch, that thing last forever
__________________
Xray X12 2015
ARC R10 ATS
Car Breaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lipo Battery Balancer wire Question ckaspar Radio and Electronics 2 06-13-2008 10:53 AM
how to wire a switch...? XingXing Electric On-Road 19 09-11-2006 04:50 PM
Which guage wire for battery? RoostAZ Electric Off-Road 3 09-04-2006 04:05 AM
Battery Wire Clangeddin Electric On-Road 5 10-13-2005 05:34 AM
Battery Bars vs Braided Wire 403forbidden Electric On-Road 68 04-28-2005 08:46 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:31 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net