R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-02-2006, 10:49 AM   #76
Tech Fanatic
 
teammpp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artificial-I
What do you think would be a better charger a 3amp or 1amp charger. I think im going to get the supercharger and the battery tender jr. See which works better.
The slower charger is always better. Blasting larger amperage into a battery actually destroys it. If your battery is say a 12v-30Ah, the best charge rate would be about 0.5A over 60hrs or slower from fully flat. 1A over 30hrs would be the max I would charge it at.
teammpp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 01:56 PM   #77
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,107
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artificial-I
What do you think would be a better charger a 3amp or 1amp charger. I think im going to get the supercharger and the battery tender jr. See which works better.
Yeah, my boat, bike, skidoo friend mentioned....1.5AMP are pretty high for those little gel cell already........3 amps, he cannot imagine what will happen next...

I believed him....1-1.5 amps are the MOST I would think about. Be carefull.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 06:31 PM   #78
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Ok. I got the battery tender JR. Thing works great. Everything else is overkill.
I dont know why they sell any other charger along with their 12V batteries. It really makes no sense to me. They are very close in price. Im going to get some banana connects for it and im set.

The tender JR is 700mah charge. Thats what my hanger9 battery charger was. Now my batteries should actually last. Im still going to go and pickup an interstate gel cell. I think that will offer more durability over the hobby batteries , but we will see. Ill let you guys know.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 10:42 AM   #79
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 304
Default

I'm interested in "how" you'd turn a standard on-road starter box (using 2 stock motors) into a box on steroids with two brushless motors and lipo batteries?

Beyond whether it's needed, just curious in the how.
Darint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 10:53 AM   #80
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,880
Default

I have dual 4500 stick packs in my mugen box. I never use more than 1000mah in a race or practice day.
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 11:46 AM   #81
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 304
Default

I'm not so concerned with MAH usage, the lipo would effectively solve "power source" issues by reducing weight and providing more than enough voltage and amperage.

I'm likely more interested in how to wire the lipo to the brushless motors. Would it need a regulator, or switching system of some kind?
Darint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 01:47 PM   #82
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,296
Default

Darint,
Yes you will require a switching device to provide a rotating magnetic field for the bushless motor so you will need a brushless controller. Considering the work it will be doing a heavy duty brushless controller.

Your up for some $$ just to reduce some weight.
au_Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 02:26 PM   #83
Tech Master
 
sickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,974
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

got mine at my lhs for $69. will last as long or longer than gel cells. you only need one, so its lighter than stick packs. turns the motors faster and has more torque than nicd or gel cell.
sickboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 04:58 PM   #84
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 304
Default

So, you'd need something like a brushless controller? What would be used for the switching device? (off/on)
Darint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 07:15 PM   #85
Tech Master
 
sickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,974
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

nothing extra needed except some deans plugs. if you look at your box wiring, it has two plugs with a jumper wire connecting the positive on one plug to the negative on the other. all you have to do is convert it to one plug, eliminating the jumper.
sickboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 12:40 AM   #86
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,296
Default

sickboy, I am very interested in how you connected up a brushless motor just with Deans plugs (as Darint is talking about).
au_Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 01:02 AM   #87
Tech Master
 
sickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 1,974
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

mis-understood his post..........no brushless, just lipo.
sickboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 01:13 AM   #88
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,296
Default

Darint, for starter boxes stick with the brushed motor. I added 2 30A relays to drive the motor to my box (with the push contact driving the relays). Works great . Great for not burning out the push contact
au_Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 06:16 AM   #89
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 304
Default

Guys, it's not "what to do", but the theory around "how would you" accomplish brushless motors with lipo in a starter box?
Darint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 01:23 PM   #90
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by au_Nightmare View Post
Darint,
Yes you will require a switching device to provide a rotating magnetic field for the bushless motor so you will need a brushless controller. Considering the work it will be doing a heavy duty brushless controller.

Your up for some $$ just to reduce some weight.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darint View Post
So, you'd need something like a brushless controller? What would be used for the switching device? (off/on)
Brushless controller - See above.
Switching device - going to depend on the requirements of the controller.
au_Nightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FT GT2 RTR, Ofna starter box w/ batteries, Dynamite Vision Peak w/ batteries phayes526 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 07-15-2008 12:35 PM
WTB: Starter Box batteries rcjunky10 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 10-19-2007 12:19 PM
Brand New Mugen Starter Box & HT Batteries Starter Box LiPo Battery TonysScrews R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-15-2007 01:09 AM
starter box w/batteries chuckharrisjr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 09-06-2007 08:48 PM
AE Starter Box with batteries CraigH R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 06-23-2004 05:09 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:17 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net