R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-21-2002, 01:04 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 5
Default Supercharged? Does this work?

I found this on HPI's gallery. I didn't think supercharging a nitro engine was possible. I guess this guy figured it out. Anyway what kind of benefit could this give. Woudn't the reliabilty of these engines go out he window or what. Just curious. It's probably a repost. What do you guys think?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image009t.jpg (11.4 KB, 76 views)
djmtsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 01:06 PM   #2
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 5
Default Sorry small pic

djmtsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 01:55 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Fake TURBOcharger

djmtsu;

That is a fake TURBOcharger. There was a thread a couple of weeks ago all about it on Radio Control Zone
Go the R/C Cars section, then in either the On or Off-road Nitro pages.

Last edited by popsracer; 12-21-2002 at 02:06 PM.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 02:15 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 5
Default

That's weak, I checked out the other forum, and then I actually looked at his setup. Wow, what crap. I know a thing or two about turbos, owning an RX-7, and I did not think it was possible, or even worth it. Besides, it takes so much computer intervention to keep my real twin-turbo rotary from blowing itself to pieces. I can't imagine what a turbo system left to its own devices would do in an RC.
djmtsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 02:44 PM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 65
Default

looks more like a fake supercharger than a fake turbocharger to me.. since there is no exaust tubine, just a compressor. i think the main reason boosting a nitro engine would not work is because it is a two stroke. i bet it could work on a small four stroke. you can run a fuel management unit to control air\fuel ratio as boost pressure rises and it does not need any computer help. its obviously not as good, but a turbo\supercharger can be run without any serious electronics. im sure mazda has a very precise and reliable system loaded with computer stuff though.i wonder who the hell attatched all that stuff to their car. maybe just a joke? oh, and whats the tube on the side of the car with the white box on the end of it supposed to be?
wahturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 03:23 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
university_dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milton Keynes, England
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by djmtsu
Besides, it takes so much computer intervention to keep my real twin-turbo rotary from blowing itself to pieces. I can't imagine what a turbo system left to its own devices would do in an RC.
That's because it's a Wankel so it needs loads of electronics to make the rotary bit work as well.
Have you seen the engine in the new RX-8? It's still a rotary, but uses a trianglular combustion chamber and I think it now only has the one Turbo on it.
university_dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 06:35 PM   #7
Tech Chat Moderator
 
TheRagunCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Swamps of Louisiana
Posts: 266
Default

That picture has been discused on the rctech's, hpi and other forums many many times. Yup it's fake. But hey, it would make a ncie center peice for christmas...wouldn't it?
__________________
Wow these forums have gotten popular since 02!
TheRagunCajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 07:19 PM   #8
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,405
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Actually the new RX8 is naturally aspirated. Mazda claims its more reliable than the previous RX7's but only time will tell. Nothing special though, I'd take a turbocharged engine any day.
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 07:23 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia, wollongong
Posts: 740
Send a message via ICQ to V-One S
Default

The one massive reason why it will not work is due to the fact that both the exhuast port, and intake port are opened at the same time and it will not build compression but just blow the air and fuel straight out the exhaust pipe.

A guy who has a website who hosts that picture said it was fake.


Can people stop putting this thread up with the same car? This is the 3rd time i've seen this thread in this Forum.
Its really annoying.
V-One S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
supercharged 3.3 revo vantage carbon fiber gravediggermaxx R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 02-13-2008 07:19 PM
SUPERCHARGED KIT FOR LST,XXX rcshopbali Australia For Sale/Trade 1 04-09-2007 01:24 AM
SUPERCHARGED KIT SYSTEM for LST, XXX rcshopbali R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-06-2007 10:42 AM
How do starter boxes work? Do they work with Shaft Start engines? Ofna_Driver_777 Electric Off-Road 7 02-25-2007 07:51 PM
supercharged t-maxx info??? salleeracing Monster Trucks 4 11-17-2005 02:14 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:03 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net