R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-road-3/)
-   -   Engine Cooling Methods (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-road/109380-engine-cooling-methods.html)

Blazin~ 04-08-2006 07:05 PM

Engine Cooling Methods

Hi everyone, :p

Just wanted to know everyone's opinion on engine cooling, (particularly from the pros) whether cutting holes in the shell is effective or are there better techniques I haven't heard of?

At present, all I have heard of is the "putting cooling holes in your shell" technique. :rolleyes:

Is this method really effective, or is it better not to sacrifice the windscreen and window of a good body?

Cheers to everyone who replies,
Blazin~ :tire:

onnetz 04-08-2006 07:12 PM

I'm not a pro but yes it's effective and necessary..

one hole in the front and two in the rear....

I've heard of people trying some kind of intake on the front of the body but dont know how well it worked.... plus I doubt it would be legal for racing.

Artificial-I 04-08-2006 07:55 PM

60MM Hole in the front windsheild = 2.36inch

Then engine side front window , 2 as large as possible in the rear. I believe its unlimited so you can even cut the whole thing out. But this kinda makes the body less rigid so 2 large holes is normally best.

Blazin~ 04-08-2006 08:44 PM

Thanks for the feedback guys,
If anyone else has any other ideas/ methods, please tell.

Thanks again,
Blazin~

nigelnuggets 04-08-2006 08:53 PM

attach a fan. :ha:

jp jp. just dont run it too lean now. and yes do cut them holes in the body! make sure your running the proper gearing. and expect engine temperatures to be higher when running for extended periods of time. depending on the motor, you can run temperatures anywhere from about 200degress Farhenheit to about 235degrees safely. remmber this is depending on the motor.

good luck!

rocca30 04-08-2006 08:53 PM

50 mm if your raceing roar in the front windsheild