R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 12-18-2002, 01:24 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice

Arrow proper way to break-in an engine????

i just got my gt4. some people say break the engine in with real-world conditions like fast acceleration, etc while others say break it in slowly. what is the proper way and what should i do? sorry for the newbie question. oh, what should my first upgrades be. im just learning so im not going to be racing any time soon. thanks
stupid newbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2002, 01:33 PM   #2

Send a message via AIM to bbntc3

Break the engine in slow, you will have a slow engine. Break it in fast, you'll have a fast engine. Read the engine or car manual it will tell.
bbntc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2002, 01:44 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice

thanks bbntc3. so by breaking it in fast, i should accelerate fast, brake hard, turn quick, etc like i was really racing or something? cuz i saw this one guy at my lhs breaking in his novarossi engine in his ntc3 and was going all slow the whole time. he didnt even go full throttle once. so fast break-in is the best then?
Old 12-18-2002, 02:08 PM   #4
Tech Elite

Default Engine Break-in

STUPID Newbie;

3 tanks idling NO Driving, rich mixture. Allow to cool down between tanks (1-2 hrs).
Tanks 4-6 DRIVE around varying the throttle, SHORT (1-2 secs) bursts of full throttle are OK. Re-adjust tuning as necessary.

By tank 6+ you should be able to tune for maximum power. Try keeping your engine temperature in the 220-240F range. It will usually take about 9-10 tanks of fuel for the piston and sleeve to fully be broken in.

*NOTE*: ALWAYS turn the flywheel so the piston is at the bottom of the sleeve when the engine is cooling down. If it cools down at TDC, the piston can become stuck in the sleeve and damage can result from forcing it down. Once the engine is completely broken in this will no longer be a concern.