R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-20-2006, 04:24 PM   #706
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jo Gutierrez
high cost of shipping, lost packages, takes a long time to get here, etc...
at least these were the problems i had or somebody i know had when ordering from hong kong. we never had problems with the border r/c though but the cost is pretty high due to the conversion rate and shipping.

personally i'd just wait for a lhs or a domestic online shop to have what i need. it's easier to track them down when there's an issue .
Sounds like legitimate reasons to wait for the LHS to me!
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2006, 05:31 PM   #707
Tech Master
 
impalabob64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: florida
Posts: 1,464
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to impalabob64
Default hey

jiga, PNP Hobbbies has 3 left on the shelf 723-7318
__________________
RoninRc.com
MurnanModifiedMotors
Basher BT-4
impalabob64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2006, 06:48 PM   #708
Tech Master
 
speedracer1129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 1,023
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhigga15
I try to get the cars from the LHS if they stock it...I only get hard to get cheap things on e-bay from overseas (mostly Tamiya Parts)...Generally by the time you pay for overseas shipping and the wait time, you could have gotten it from the LHS 5 days eairler and for the same price...

Atomic Hobbies and Micro Motor Sport has them
__________________
Want to know how to have better health tailored just for you?? Visit www.mygenewize.com/lchirino
speedracer1129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2006, 08:19 PM   #709
Tech Elite
 
dj apolaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Miami, Fl.
Posts: 2,399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan D
I will be there, hopefully the trip up doesn't come with all the craziness of the racine trip.(blown tire, U-joint go bad on the truck)

Well a mugen hasn't won a race. kyosho won in cinnci, serpent in toledo and racine.

I paid for fast shipping to get mine so quickly and I run for serpent.

I had to get it built I have hockey practice today so i'll have enough time tonight to set-up the car and motor. I had everything already shortened from my 710 so it made life easy for me with the radio gear. I would of been done it 5 hours if i didn't have to take the rear-end back apart (dropped the brake cam and didn't notice )

Dj my 710 front sway bar is thinner then the 720 have you tested them at all?
Did not notice any difference. The sway bar on your 710, was it the serpent one or another brand. I think the old and new ones are the same.
dj apolaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2006, 08:42 PM   #710
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: mentor, ohio
Posts: 199
Default

It was whatever came with my car its black the new one is like the spring steel
Dan D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2006, 09:14 PM   #711
Tech Regular
 
serpentpro28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: VA
Posts: 299
Default price for 720

guys how much is your 720?
__________________
Team bilis racing
serpentpro28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2006, 09:28 PM   #712
Tech Adept
 
rcpanama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Panama
Posts: 181
Default Wiring and cable for servos

[IMG]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sow&Steady
qlone, how do you do the wiring? do you cut and solder/join and then tape it up or do you actually remove the connector pins, cut and then re-insert the pins?

Got pics of it?
I do change the wire for a heavier gauche (I am using Li Po) and solder the wire direct from servo (shorter size) you can see the picture

RCPANAMA
[IMG]
Attached Thumbnails
Serpent 720-dsc01238.jpg  
rcpanama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2006, 10:23 PM   #713
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcpanama
[IMG]

I do change the wire for a heavier gauche (I am using Li Po) and solder the wire direct from servo (shorter size) you can see the picture

RCPANAMA
[IMG]
Wow....good soldering work.
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2006, 02:42 AM   #714
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wilnis, The Netherlands
Posts: 153
Send a message via MSN to Qlone
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sow&Steady
qlone, how do you do the wiring? do you cut and solder/join and then tape it up or do you actually remove the connector pins, cut and then re-insert the pins?
Got pics of it?
I will make some pics of it this evening.

I had to do the servo cables in two different ways. For my throttle/brake servo (a cheap futaba digital) I just opened up the servo, de-soldered the wire, made it shorter and soldered it back in.
My HiTec steering servo has some plastic-like substance on the inside, so I couldn't solder there. I bought an unassembled plug and soldered that on the servo wire directly.

I use a 3-way switch for convenience and soldered 3 wires to it. One goes to my battery and has an inverted plug. The other two contain just regular servo plugs. One goes to my receiver and the other is just tie-wrapped somewhere on the car. I use that plug to recharge the battery (so basically my switch has a 'use' and a 'recharge' position).

Pics coming up
Qlone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2006, 08:44 AM   #715
Tech Elite
 
dj apolaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Miami, Fl.
Posts: 2,399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan D
It was whatever came with my car its black the new one is like the spring steel
The black one was not serpent, we where testing things. Use the one that came with the 720, It has plenty of steering from what I hear.
dj apolaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2006, 02:20 PM   #716
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcpanama
[IMG]

I do change the wire for a heavier gauche (I am using Li Po) and solder the wire direct from servo (shorter size) you can see the picture

RCPANAMA
[IMG]
That is excellent!
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2006, 02:22 PM   #717
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qlone
I will make some pics of it this evening.

I had to do the servo cables in two different ways. For my throttle/brake servo (a cheap futaba digital) I just opened up the servo, de-soldered the wire, made it shorter and soldered it back in.
My HiTec steering servo has some plastic-like substance on the inside, so I couldn't solder there. I bought an unassembled plug and soldered that on the servo wire directly.

I use a 3-way switch for convenience and soldered 3 wires to it. One goes to my battery and has an inverted plug. The other two contain just regular servo plugs. One goes to my receiver and the other is just tie-wrapped somewhere on the car. I use that plug to recharge the battery (so basically my switch has a 'use' and a 'recharge' position).

Pics coming up

I'm looking forward to the pics ... I'm inspired to do some soldering now!
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2006, 08:21 AM   #718
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wilnis, The Netherlands
Posts: 153
Send a message via MSN to Qlone
Angry Right...

Sorry, no pics yet. I will make them, but haven't really had time to do so yet.

So, I've ordered a Mega ZX12 Race with pipe for my new 720. Then I can 'promote' my old NovaMega SX12-RT MS to be my spare engine again. Yesterday I got the engine but I have some trouble attaching the exhaust:



The manifold has holes at the top and the bottom, but not at its left and right side... that can't be right, or am I missing something here?
Qlone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2006, 09:38 AM   #719
Tech Champion
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qlone
Yesterday I got the engine but I have some trouble attaching the exhaust:



The manifold has holes at the top and the bottom, but not at its left and right side... that can't be right, or am I missing something here?
The holes are definitely wrong, it must have been made on a Friday or Monday with too much to drink (hang-over)
__________________
Home of the Kamikaze Driver's Development Program = guaranteed podium finish
Kamikaze Toys and Hobbies Inc.
Follow us here on Facebook!
Team Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2006, 09:52 AM   #720
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wilnis, The Netherlands
Posts: 153
Send a message via MSN to Qlone
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Kamikaze
The holes are definitely wrong, it must have been made on a Friday or Monday with too much to drink (hang-over)
That's what I thought . So I borrowed a 1mm drill from my neighbour and made two more holes, in the right locations...
Qlone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-23-2015 12:34 AM
Serpent 710 Ron C. Nitro On-Road 23347 03-16-2010 02:47 PM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:11 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net