R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2006, 02:11 PM   #1621
Tech Initiate
 
wazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sow&Steady
I don't know the dimensions of the Futaba one but the Spektrum one fits perfectly.
yes, because the spektrum receiver doesn't have this inside antenna thing were the "extra" antenna wire comes out, youl'll see it on the picture. Dont know how i can call that...



its to high to mount the receiver flipped around 180 because the space between the servo and the backplate of the receiver mounting ist to small (if you cut hole in it, like me... )
wazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 02:19 PM   #1622
Tech Elite
 
Derby Bros Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,209
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I don't have a Futaba receiver but it looks like there's a way to install it by looking at that picture.

1. The receiver needs to be installed with the connections facing the inside of the car.
2. The plastic holder where you double sided tape the receiver on needs to be cut maybe halfway or up to where it would clear the "antenna thing" that is sticking out.
3. Double sided tape the receiver to the remaining plastic and wrap electrical tape like you would on a regular receiver installation and go on with the cover installation.

Again, this is just an assumption based on the picture you posted. Check it and see if the steps above will work (I think it will ). Good luck man! Let us know how it goes...
Derby Bros Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 06:57 PM   #1623
Tech Adept
 
S710_Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 229
Default

Hey Guys

Thanks for all your replies... I am a bit disappointed with my current ride (G4S) with the fact it is hopup king just to make it go full race distance etc. I am not sure i want to spend any more money on R/C this year though with only a couple of meets left of racing for the year...

SN
S710_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 06:59 PM   #1624
Tech Adept
 
S710_Nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 229
Default

Also,

does the kit require universals up front, I remember the dogbones on S710 were soft an prone to breaking on impact. Do i need any setup tools to make building the centax any easier???

SN
S710_Nut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 07:16 PM   #1625
Tech Master
 
buboy28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: manila,philippines
Posts: 1,601
Send a message via AIM to buboy28 Send a message via Yahoo to buboy28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S710_Nut
Also,

does the kit require universals up front, I remember the dogbones on S710 were soft an prone to breaking on impact. Do i need any setup tools to make building the centax any easier???

SN
the universals makes the car runs smoother so i suggest to get one for your car
buboy28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 10:19 PM   #1626
Tech Champion
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S710_Nut
Also,

does the kit require universals up front, I remember the dogbones on S710 were soft an prone to breaking on impact. Do i need any setup tools to make building the centax any easier???

SN
Serpent made a tool to make the adjustment of the centax clutch easier, with this tool you can adjust the tension of the spring externally, part number for the tool is #909598, but a tool to make building the centax clutch easier, I don't think there is one.
__________________
Home of the Kamikaze Driver's Development Program = guaranteed podium finish
Kamikaze Toys and Hobbies Inc.
Follow us here on Facebook!
Team Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 10:22 PM   #1627
Tech Elite
 
Derby Bros Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,209
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S710_Nut
Also,

does the kit require universals up front, I remember the dogbones on S710 were soft an prone to breaking on impact. Do i need any setup tools to make building the centax any easier???

SN
No, the kit does not require a universal up front. Like I mentioned earlier, just make sure you shim it with an oring (one in each side of the outdrives). And just like the name says, the universals are optionals so the kit doesn't require it but can be an option part.

Building the centax is pretty easy. The kit includes the pinion tools as well as the centax adjustment tool.
Derby Bros Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 12:37 AM   #1628
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wazee
yes, because the spektrum receiver doesn't have this inside antenna thing were the "extra" antenna wire comes out, youl'll see it on the picture. Dont know how i can call that...



its to high to mount the receiver flipped around 180 because the space between the servo and the backplate of the receiver mounting ist to small (if you cut hole in it, like me... )
OK, I see it.

So does it touch the throttle servo even after you cut some part of the radio box?

An alternative is to do what some pro drivers in Europe do, they ONLY use the radio box's backplate to hold the Rx. They just tape the Rx to it.
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 12:38 AM   #1629
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jo Gutierrez
I don't have a Futaba receiver but it looks like there's a way to install it by looking at that picture.

1. The receiver needs to be installed with the connections facing the inside of the car.
2. The plastic holder where you double sided tape the receiver on needs to be cut maybe halfway or up to where it would clear the "antenna thing" that is sticking out.
3. Double sided tape the receiver to the remaining plastic and wrap electrical tape like you would on a regular receiver installation and go on with the cover installation.

Again, this is just an assumption based on the picture you posted. Check it and see if the steps above will work (I think it will ). Good luck man! Let us know how it goes...
Very good Jo. I thought this is what he tried but your description should guarantee that wazee tries it this way.
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 07:08 AM   #1630
Tech Initiate
 
wazee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jo Gutierrez
I don't have a Futaba receiver but it looks like there's a way to install it by looking at that picture.

1. The receiver needs to be installed with the connections facing the inside of the car.
2. The plastic holder where you double sided tape the receiver on needs to be cut maybe halfway or up to where it would clear the "antenna thing" that is sticking out.
3. Double sided tape the receiver to the remaining plastic and wrap electrical tape like you would on a regular receiver installation and go on with the cover installation.

Again, this is just an assumption based on the picture you posted. Check it and see if the steps above will work (I think it will ). Good luck man! Let us know how it goes...
this was my second attempt to install it, i've used this method to install the old hrs receiver from my 3pk on the 710 but it doesn't work with this receiver on the s720.
Like sow&steady said, even with a cut out of the backplate for the antenna thing it touch the servo.

I had to use 4mm of double sided tape that there was a space between the throttle servo and the receiver.
i wasn't happy with this solution and on taking apart the receiver from the backplate and the tape the futaba cover went completly off.
i was able to put it back on but am still not satisfied with mounting the receiver, searching still for a another way/solution...

buying the m-mod tuning receiver box from the german mugen distributor isn't an option (yet) for 70 $

any other ideas without using the serpent receiver mounting?
wazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 08:42 AM   #1631
Tech Elite
 
Derby Bros Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,209
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Wazee

Sorry the steps didn't work out for you. You said with a 4mm double sided tape it still wouldn't clear the servo... what about mounting the receiver to the cover itself but this time with a thin double sided tape? Will it clear the "antenna thing"? If it still doesn't clear it then the "antenna thing" must be too big. You know, I wonder what that thing is. Because it could only be a plastic deal that routes the antenna out of the receiver box, which IF that is the case then probably it's safe to take it off and have the antenna out just like how the spektrum is. I know Ryan Maifield who is a worlds driver and a Factory Futaba driver. I am not sure if I'll see him tonight but when I do, I will ask him. For now I think Sow&Steady's suggestion will work so you can at least run the car as I've also seen pictures of race cars without the receiver cover.
Derby Bros Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 10:36 AM   #1632
Tech Champion
 
Team Kamikaze's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 我的名字是沈先生。我是中国人, 居住美国
Posts: 8,868
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Jo Gutierrez]Wazee
what about mounting the receiver to the cover itself but this time with a thin double sided tape [QUOTE]

I agree with JO, I've seen it mounted on the receiver cover itself and it actually clears the servo, just cut off the tab completely where the receiver is suppose to be mounted.
__________________
Home of the Kamikaze Driver's Development Program = guaranteed podium finish
Kamikaze Toys and Hobbies Inc.
Follow us here on Facebook!
Team Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 01:24 PM   #1633
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 216
Default

Why can't you just mount it with the servo plugs facing outward, without the cover? Will that work?
Luke W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 01:43 PM   #1634
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: off campus
Posts: 178
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Belt Tension

Where does everybody put their belt tension on the 720?

Front and Rear?

Default, Loose, or Tight?
Kendall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 02:15 PM   #1635
Tech Elite
 
Derby Bros Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 3,209
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

On mine I got
Front = Tight setting
Rear = Default setting (middle)
Derby Bros Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 705 J_Longbrake Nitro On-Road 4252 02-23-2015 12:34 AM
Serpent 710 Ron C. Nitro On-Road 23347 03-16-2010 02:47 PM
WTB: NIB Serpent 710 aN4rK1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 06-16-2006 09:23 PM
Trade in Your Old Serpent 710 Parts for New Serpent 710 Parts fast_it710 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2004 12:27 AM
Serpent Impulse w/MT-12 and Serpent Starter box - cheap Solara R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-07-2003 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:19 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net