R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-19-2006, 07:53 PM   #46
Tech Master
 
fritzD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to fritzD
Default

should i wait for the new version of the spektrum? or should i just get the old one which is readily available here?
fritzD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 07:59 PM   #47
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

I would.

Wait for the new if you want to be 100%. Its also be a bit faster than the older versions. (more responsive).
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 09:46 PM   #48
Tech Elite
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,514
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Riketsu
Default

Well guys, I'll share my experience. In my last race, after my first practice, my spektrum worked awesome. When I went to my second practice, my throttle and steering servo both were glitching to an extreme point. I changed batteries and still the same. I changed recievers and problem solved. Before going out to practice, I opened up the glitched reciever, and found an amazing collection of small rocks from the track. After removing those and installing the reciever back, I did not experience any other glitching problem. That is, after I installed a balloon on the reciever to make sure no more dirt got inside. For electric purposes, I'd suggest you get a 1000uma capacitor or the spektrum capacitor to ensure your reciever will always have voltage.
__________________
eBay user id: riketsukirai
Riketsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 10:01 PM   #49
Tech Elite
 
itchy b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In My Man Cave
Posts: 4,144
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i'm running a 3pk with spectrum and ko pds-2344fet and futaba 9550 in my g4 and 2 ace ds1015's in my mtx4 cause they are better priced and from all reports are a good servo. just a question on the spectrum, i've noticed some guys run a capacitor or somthing like that on the power plug for some reason, can anyone shed any light on this set up and why it is being used ? have to agree with everyone that the spectrum is a good thing
__________________
-Blitz-Rallyhawk-EX 1.5R-Xpress-P64 Tyrrell-Lotus79-Espirit VTA
EX1.5-SC10 4x4
itchy b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 10:47 PM   #50
Tech Addict
 
jscamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oviedo,FL
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jscamry Send a message via MSN to jscamry Send a message via Yahoo to jscamry Send a message via Skype™ to jscamry
Default for ko propo helios owners

Hey all!! I was wondering if any of the helios owners wished that their radio had these features: Display-only mode,Idle Up and Fail safe?

and to all of the non helios owners, do you use these features often?

thanks Jason
jscamry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 12:30 AM   #51
Tech Master
 
fritzD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to fritzD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jscamry
Hey all!! I was wondering if any of the helios owners wished that their radio had these features: Display-only mode,Idle Up and Fail safe?

and to all of the non helios owners, do you use these features often?

thanks Jason
helios has idle up... but they named it differently... check out the function TH:PRESET it can be used for idle up... works perfect for me... chek it out..
fritzD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 12:31 AM   #52
Tech Master
 
fritzD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to fritzD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riketsu
Well guys, I'll share my experience. In my last race, after my first practice, my spektrum worked awesome. When I went to my second practice, my throttle and steering servo both were glitching to an extreme point. I changed batteries and still the same. I changed recievers and problem solved. Before going out to practice, I opened up the glitched reciever, and found an amazing collection of small rocks from the track. After removing those and installing the reciever back, I did not experience any other glitching problem. That is, after I installed a balloon on the reciever to make sure no more dirt got inside. For electric purposes, I'd suggest you get a 1000uma capacitor or the spektrum capacitor to ensure your reciever will always have voltage.
i see... thanks for sharing..
fritzD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 12:51 AM   #53
Tech Addict
 
jscamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oviedo,FL
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jscamry Send a message via MSN to jscamry Send a message via Yahoo to jscamry Send a message via Skype™ to jscamry
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fritzD
helios has idle up... but they named it differently... check out the function TH:PRESET it can be used for idle up... works perfect for me... chek it out..
Thanks for the help. Fritz, does the helios have Display-only mode?

thanks Jason
jscamry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 01:05 AM   #54
Tech Master
 
fritzD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to fritzD
Default

im not sure... i havent read the manual thoroughly..
fritzD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 01:23 AM   #55
Tech Adept
 
TT120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rancho Cordova, CA.
Posts: 122
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TT120
Default

Airtronics (Sanwa) M8 witht the spektrum system. I've had it for about a year and never had any glitches or problems in any of my cars and trucks. Never noticed any lag either. It's been working great for me.
TT120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 02:49 AM   #56
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Brisbane. Australia
Posts: 1,820
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

buy what u like lol the pro's use what paysem most in most cases.
i was worried id buy a radio and not have the fetures but if u buy a helios 3pk m11 u will be sweet ive heard good things about crx and jr z1 so buy what suite your grip. i bought m11 caus every one said it was more comfortable than 3pk and i wasnt dissapointed lol no one rus 3pk in my area i havnt seen one except mine
__________________
Josh P
to make Keith happy
Corally phi
M11
SP GT
SP 5.5,17.5
aus jd 2703 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 07:00 AM   #57
Tech Adept
 
nitro_racer23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 224
Default

I have used futaba HRS Reciver and 3PK with 13kg ACE digital servos for a while now and i dont think ill change over to the 2.4 ghz system for a while my radio has never had a problem and i havent had any glitches with crystals or other people on my frequency and i love the 3PK because its so user friendly.
nitro_racer23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 07:23 AM   #58
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vallejo
Posts: 59
Default KO Propo

Anyone have any experience with the new KO propo servos (PDS-2365)? I've heard the previous model (PDS-2343) had wire issues, ie. the connecting wire to the servo was a weak connection. So i'm a bit reluctant to spend $125 on a servo that might cut out on me. Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks.
jfro6512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 07:28 AM   #59
Tech Master
 
fritzD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to fritzD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfro6512
Anyone have any experience with the new KO propo servos (PDS-2365)? I've heard the previous model (PDS-2343) had wire issues, ie. the connecting wire to the servo was a weak connection. So i'm a bit reluctant to spend $125 on a servo that might cut out on me. Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks.
never really had a KO servo myself but a fren of mine had one. he had problems with the throtle servo neutral position.. everything he switched everything on, the throtle servo doesn't go the its perviosly set neutral position..
fritzD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 07:31 AM   #60
Tech Elite
 
itchy b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In My Man Cave
Posts: 4,144
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfro6512
Anyone have any experience with the new KO propo servos (PDS-2365)? I've heard the previous model (PDS-2343) had wire issues, ie. the connecting wire to the servo was a weak connection. So i'm a bit reluctant to spend $125 on a servo that might cut out on me. Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks.
dont know about the 2365 but i've been using the 2344 for a year now and i've had no problems with it, maybe the problem with the wires has been corrected
__________________
-Blitz-Rallyhawk-EX 1.5R-Xpress-P64 Tyrrell-Lotus79-Espirit VTA
EX1.5-SC10 4x4
itchy b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinions, Radio Gear and Battery Gear d4_racer Australia For Sale/Trade 9 09-18-2007 02:07 AM
WTB: Radio Gear jaym Australia Wanted to Buy 4 07-13-2007 08:40 AM
F.S HPI Am radio gear thachowman Australia For Sale/Trade 3 06-13-2007 08:32 AM
Radio Gear Namheul Australia Wanted to Buy 10 05-31-2007 02:30 AM
Need help with radio gear calyakker Electric Off-Road 9 11-20-2006 08:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net