Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
What radio gear do you use? why? thread >

What radio gear do you use? why? thread

What radio gear do you use? why? thread

Reply

Old 03-29-2006, 03:56 PM
  #16  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
rmdhawaii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,804
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Being new and not really knowning what I needed or wanted in a radio, I just picked up a Futaba 3PM-FM. A guy at my LHS recommended it and at $129, how could I go wrong. It's lightweight, easy to adjust and seems to get the job done. I only have two complaints about the radio; 1) The ATL brake button is located right by the thumb and I have a tendency of accidentally pressing it, so I really have to watch my brakes, otherwise it gets set to zero, and 2) The rubber on the steering wheel keeps moving and binds up against the radio body, so I have to pull it out and reposition it. Both of these problems are very annoying and I find myself having to deal with them even while I'm racing. The ATL brake button alone warrants a radio change. I guess I could always glue the rubber to the wheel.

Initially, I was contemplating getting the Spektrum radio - and quite a number of guys at the track tried to convince me to get it based on the fact that you don't have to fuss with any crystals, but some other guys said the radio is still a bit glitchy. Since there are only a limited number of guys racing, frequency selection is not an issue. The M11 was a canidate as well, but is it really the standard in R/C radios these days?

The only thing I really adjust are the endpoints and the brakes at 50%. I was told that using throttle exponential on a Nitro car is highly unadvisable. Everything else is at 100%.

For servos, I choose the Futaba S9451.
rmdhawaii is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 04:17 PM
  #17  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
GrandeGixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 3,270
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I use an Airtronics M8 with Spectrum. I am going to get an M11 before next indoor season. Dont need it, but it will be nice. I run the Airtronics 94357 servos for steering and throttle in the gas car and 93145 or JR Z3550 in 1/12th. On the carpet I have stayed away from using the Spectrum, but outside, it has worked flawlessly.
GrandeGixxer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 04:25 PM
  #18  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
JLock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,494
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have used Futaba surface radios since I got into the hobby back in 1987. I have used JR back when it was JR Propo and Airtronics, but have has the lease amount of problems and glitch issues with Futaba. I have recently used Hitec with almost the same success. KO has been the major brand that I have not used. I currently use the older 3PDF on my offroad gear and my 3PK on my onroad gear. I have the Spektrum (with mixed results) and the synthesized module (works fantastic) for my 3PK. I use the new Hitec receivers because of the size and price as compaired to the Futaba receivers. But, you really can't go wrong with any of the high-end versions of any of the brand radios on the market now. It just depends on what you prefer and comfort-level.
JLock is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 04:29 PM
  #19  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
oldnitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 370
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

what Radio?
Nodadio Sensor
Why?
because i was up for a new radio after my MARs went crasy
Do I like it?
YES
it is a simple light weight radio with every function you would ever need
Temp,RPM,Speed,Receiver battery level,car battery level and transmitter battery level all with user set warning levels
oldnitro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 08:45 PM
  #20  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
spenzalii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Upper Marlboro, MD
Posts: 1,424
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Before: JR Xr3 w/ Futaba servos. At the time, good price for digital FM radio (still is...)

Now: Hitec CRX w/Spektrum (just came in!). Just because I wanted a Spektrum setup and didn't want to pony up for the M11
spenzalii is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 09:14 PM
  #21  
Tech Apprentice
 
chemlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 77
Default

I use:
- Airtronics M11-Good Radio(a little heavy) but coming from an M8 which was nothing but good for me.....
-K.O. Propo Servos-Good and Powerfull-They are very Consistent
(I also have airtonics 94257/58(5 or 6 yrs old they are good too...)but will only buy KO servos from now on...
-Spektrum System-Will not go back to FM. (Why??) I have never had a problem with this system. Most important is to keep the Battery charged....

I know a little mixture of everything but they all work well together.....
chemlab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 06:38 AM
  #22  
Tech Regular
 
Orfeous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UmeŚ, Sweden
Posts: 293
Default

Futaba 3PJ with Futaba S9402 Servos
Orfeous is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 10:21 AM
  #23  
Tech Elite
 
Corse-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madrid (Spain)
Posts: 2,121
Default KO Mars-R

I'll only use KO Radios. My actual transmitter is a Mars-R circa 2003, why? because I feel comfortable on it, probably other models can have more bells and whistles, but my trusty Mars is what I want.

My previous radio was too a EX-1 Mars (the old grey AM model bought it around 1991) and got over the years got accustomed to the shape and weight of it.

On servos only go with the best: Futaba servos (945x/9402) mainly.
Corse-R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 05:38 PM
  #24  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
fritzD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cebu City, Philippines
Posts: 1,136
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

DO you guys use exponentia rate for your TH? I use + exp for the steerin. I'm just not sure what for throtle.
fritzD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 10:35 PM
  #25  
Tech Apprentice
 
Helix70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 74
Default

Spektrum DX3. No glitches, no crystals, no one driving my car into the wall because they start up the radio without a frequency tag.
Helix70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 06:59 AM
  #26  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Riketsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,552
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Helix70
Spektrum DX3. No glitches, no crystals, no one driving my car into the wall because they start up the radio without a frequency tag.
I heard that the EPA of spektrum radios is lower than regular radios? Meaning no matter how much EPA you set your spektrum radio, it will never reach the servo's maximum... This true?
Riketsu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 07:04 AM
  #27  
Tech Apprentice
 
Helix70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 74
Default

I haven't found that to be a problem. I had to pull mine back to protect the servos, 1 JR and 1 Futaba.
Helix70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 07:20 AM
  #28  
Moderator
iTrader: (17)
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Futaba 3PJS (cause it has everything , is lightweight , low profile , low battery draw and works with spektrum)
Spektrum DSM (cause I hate crystals at races with idiots. I glitch less on the spektrum so)
Futaba s9451/s9550/s9402 (all work nicely)
Ko Propo pds-763
Artificial-I is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 05:58 PM
  #29  
Tech Rookie
 
GearHead16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Futaba 3pk with spectrum system in it.
Has alot of functions and with the spectrum i dont need to worry about people being on the same chanel and it responds faster.
GearHead16 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 06:13 PM
  #30  
Moderator
iTrader: (17)
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GearHead16
Futaba 3pk with spectrum system in it.
Has alot of functions and with the spectrum i dont need to worry about people being on the same chanel and it responds faster.
Spektrum is actually slower. It adds a delay to all radios actually.
Artificial-I is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service