R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2006, 03:16 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Harwood, MD
Posts: 2,526
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Can't get the batteries to charge!

I was using my Novak on the NiMH setting at 1 amp. No matter what I set the peak setting at it would only charge for about 200 seconds. I then lowered the amp setting to .7 amps and it did the same thing.

Now I just bought the hobbico field charger made for charging the receiver and transmitter packs but it does the same thing. I thought that the battery was bad so I just got the Orion 1400 pack and it is doing the same thing.

Any thoughts???
THE DOCTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 03:23 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
GrandeGixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 2,937
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Is it possible that the pack is already charged? Not trying to be funny, just tryng to help.
__________________
Joe Cude
Mugen MBX-7R Mugen MTX-6R Mugen MTC-1 Mugen MRX-6 Mugen MST-1 Tamiya Euro Truck
GrandeGixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 03:38 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Harwood, MD
Posts: 2,526
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrandeGixxer
Is it possible that the pack is already charged? Not trying to be funny, just tryng to help.
I wish that it was the case. I discharged it and let it cool but it does the same thing.
THE DOCTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 04:05 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Chris West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 427
Send a message via MSN to Chris West
Default

if your charging off a car battery that could be flat, this happens to me when my car battery goes flat
__________________
MUGEN SEIKI | NINJA | SANWA
Chris West is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 04:27 PM   #5
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Packs can false peak sometimes.

Reset the charge a couple of times to get it to take it , it should then get past the funky start and will charge normal till its true peak.

False peaking occurs when you havent used pack in awhile or its a new pack.

When a pack starts to get warm this is when there charging correct and should soon peak. Be sure to not let a battery get over 120F or so just in case that charger is acting funny. Thats when it should stop if not its charging too much.

Also picking up and moving a battery around can also get the charger to false peak due to the spikes that happen when the connection is moved around.

Good luck. Let us know.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 07:11 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Harwood, MD
Posts: 2,526
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I will give it a try off of a power supply. I have been racing rc for 20 years and this one has got me??
THE DOCTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 08:16 PM   #7
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE DOCTOR
I will give it a try off of a power supply. I have been racing rc for 20 years and this one has got me??
What charger is it?
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2006, 10:36 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

You can also try cycling the pack 4 or 5 times to wake it up.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 11:16 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Harwood, MD
Posts: 2,526
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artificial-I
What charger is it?
A Novak millenium and the Hobbico field charger. The Novak is not the Pro model. The Hobbico is brand new.
THE DOCTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 11:17 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Harwood, MD
Posts: 2,526
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

What chargers are you guys using?
THE DOCTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 11:24 AM   #11
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

Duratrax ice.

I think you just need to keep restarting the charger after a few times it should go.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 12:00 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,312
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE DOCTOR
A Novak millenium and the Hobbico field charger. The Novak is not the Pro model. The Hobbico is brand new.
On the novak charger, change your voltage threshold to the lowest settings. The novak non-pro version is automatically set at 12mV which is usually used for Ni-Cd.
__________________
http://nitrokb.netne.net/profiles/RogerSerafin.html
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2006, 02:28 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Rapid Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: L.A. (Rowland Hts)
Posts: 1,531
Default

I just use a combo wall charger for both Tx and Rx, but I do cycle occasionally with my Tekin BC112c and DIS350 combo. I use 1 amp, although sometimes it keeps wanting to false peak, so I drop it to .7 amp.
Rapid Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 06:33 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Harwood, MD
Posts: 2,526
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid Roy
I just use a combo wall charger for both Tx and Rx, but I do cycle occasionally with my Tekin BC112c and DIS350 combo. I use 1 amp, although sometimes it keeps wanting to false peak, so I drop it to .7 amp.
The wall charger I have is for Ni-cads 6 volts not NiMh, will it still work?
THE DOCTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2006, 09:21 AM   #15
Moderator
 
Artificial-I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rurouni Kenshin
Posts: 3,459
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I
Default

NICAD is going to overcharge your NIMH battery.

Have you tried just restarting the charge process yet? I had an old battery just yesterday only take 200mah and it barely would go up in voltage....went up , then went immediatly flat , then started dropping.

I said watch this , restarted it just once and bam....it stayed flat then 5 minutes later started to slowly climb and I was about to get 1200mah into it. My pack was a 1400 mah pack. Worked perfect!

Id really like to hear your results , this is what most everyone does or suggests. Just try the recharge and it should take.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to charge batteries? rcrevolution Electric Off-Road 3 08-01-2008 12:25 PM
How to charge batteries? techrix Singapore R/C Racers 4 07-31-2008 12:42 AM
Batteries holding charge adrictan Radio and Electronics 0 06-10-2008 08:51 AM
Cant charge my TX batteries?? TRFTIM Electric On-Road 3 01-08-2007 02:53 PM
How do you charge your different types of batteries? performula Electric On-Road 8 01-21-2003 08:24 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:46 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net