LiPo or LiFe battery for receiver?

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Roelof
  • 1 Post By P2gee

LiPo or LiFe battery for receiver?

Old 08-21-2019, 06:44 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default LiPo or LiFe battery for receiver?

Getting back to nitro cars and now needed to know what would be a better battery for the receiver.
I have read that Life has less issues compared to Lipo, but would like to hear from actual users.
I will be running 1/8 scale on road.

Thanks
Old 08-21-2019, 07:04 PM
Tech Master

A123 or LiFE
Old 08-21-2019, 10:57 PM
Tech Champion

LiPo is easier and cheaper to get. if all your electronics can handle high voltage then LiPo is no issue but you have to handle the pack with care.

LiFe is indeed safer but a tiny bit lower in voltage. It works perfect with 6v electronics.
Old 08-21-2019, 10:58 PM
Tech Initiate

I've been running nothing but lipos for the past 5 years. As long as you keep an eye on the voltage levels, you should be fine. No false peaks like ni-mh or battery memory etc...

Make sure your servos are HV compatible and enjoy the extra power
Old 08-22-2019, 12:02 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)

Motolite battery sabi ni Paquao.

Old 08-22-2019, 03:50 AM
Tech Champion

Originally Posted by cansoykal View Post
I've been running nothing but lipos for the past 5 years. As long as you keep an eye on the voltage levels, you should be fine. No false peaks like ni-mh or battery memory etc...

Make sure your servos are HV compatible and enjoy the extra power
I am still using NiMh because of some bad experiences with LiFe batteries, the balance cable with all was floating arround comming between the belt or even under the chassis. And with one it did not survive the winter stop. So back to NiMh with which I can do 3 years w/o any issues. Even no hussle with taking it out and charge it in a LiPo back as most rules do say about Lithium batteries.
BigC2007 likes this.
Old 08-22-2019, 07:14 AM
Tech Regular