R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Old 03-05-2006, 11:33 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default R40 Parking Lot Setup?

Hey guys I'm new to RcTech but looking through the website everyone seems very helpful. As my sn indicates I started out with the first HPI RS4 then moved up to the R40. The R40 is great and I love the ease of working on it, I drive it in a large parking lot that is level and smooth but has some bumps (very good lot compared to others). I know the R40 was designed with track racing in mind but I only drive it in this parking lot.

The car handles well, but I would like to adjust the setup because I know it can be greatly improved. I was wondering if anyone knows out of experience or from reference a great parking lot setup for the R40. Basically the settings for ride height, camber, toe, what kind of springs to get and front stabilizer settings.

I have all stock parts except a front one-way diff and a O.S. 12TR(P)-T engine with an HPI tuned exhaust.
RS4-R40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 09:39 AM   #2

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Artificial-I

One-way is probably making it hard on you without brakes, unless its very very large parkinglot. You need to get good ride height. Is the chassis all scrapped up? You should raise it if its getting scraped.

Use the included ride height gauge to set it above 6mm if possible all around. If its at 6mm or above and getting scraped raise it higher.

Set your front sway bar to 0 degrees and run the softest spring from hpi. I think silver? Maybe even see how it runs with no rear-sway bar.

That should about do it , the rest youll probably need to play with to get right.

Last edited by Artificial-I; 03-06-2006 at 10:48 AM.
Artificial-I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 09:54 AM   #3
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Artificial-I