R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-03-2002, 07:19 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 29
Default Fuel Filter?

I was wondering, does fuel filter help alot or its just a place to
place extra fuel?
Plz reply.....THX
[HPI]RS4SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2002, 07:44 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
modellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,447
Default

There is more than likely a fuel filter built into your tank.
External fuel filters in my opinion just upset the running of the engine.

My 2 cents.
modellor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2002, 08:34 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
nitrodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 5,842
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I used to run one and my engine was always overheating. The guys at the track said take it out and tune your engine again. Well, my engine doen't overheat anymore amd it runs great.

Thanks

Steven Muller
nitrodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2002, 08:36 PM   #4
Tech Prophet
 
InitialD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MORDOR
Posts: 19,679
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by modellor
There is more than likely a fuel filter built into your tank.
External fuel filters in my opinion just upset the running of the engine.

My 2 cents.
That is correct. Most people nowadays use the fuel filter at the pressure tubing from the pipe to the tank instead to ease out pressure variations and maintain constant pressure.
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2002, 07:11 PM   #5
Tech Chat Moderator
 
TheRagunCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Swamps of Louisiana
Posts: 266
Default in-line fuel filter

They do serve a purpose thats is to clean the fuel going into the engine. Like they said their might be a built in fitter in the tank. Also if you do run the filter you have a chance of it leaking and if that happens it can hurt your engine. It would run very hot and crazy. I bought one but i took it off right away. I never heard of it being used on the pressure line but it makes sense why. I use 12" of pressure tubing to make my car run properly. This is my pride and joy in the link below. BTW i just ordered about $400 worth of hop ups for it today .
Attached Images
File Type: jpg nrs4-1.jpg (84.2 KB, 185 views)
__________________
Wow these forums have gotten popular since 02!
TheRagunCajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2002, 09:27 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Fuel Filters exposed

[HPI]RS4SS

If your tank ALREADY has a Bronze filter inside of it, then there is no reason to add another. If it doesn't then you SHOULD add one to the fuel line from the Tank to the Carb. The Filter keeps small particals of dirt from getting inside your Carb or Engine. USE ONE!

TheRagunCajun;

12" of any line on your R/C is WAY too much. The longer the line the MORE resistance to whatever you are trying to move in that line. ONE loop in your Pressure line should be enough 6-8" MAX.
Keep you fuel line as short as possible or it will effect engine tuning drasticly.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2002, 09:32 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default My 8 yr old Son's HPI Nitro2

This belongs to my 8 yr old Son, Michael. Last two weekends in a row he got 1st place in the Nitro Rookie class at our local tracks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg michaels nrs4-01.jpg (73.2 KB, 172 views)
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2002, 10:20 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
ChrisO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 227
Send a message via AIM to ChrisO Send a message via Yahoo to ChrisO
Default

good on him!
ChrisO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 10:33 AM   #9
Tech Chat Moderator
 
TheRagunCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Swamps of Louisiana
Posts: 266
Default Re: Fuel Filters exposed

Quote:
[i]TheRagunCajun;

12" of any line on your R/C is WAY too much. The longer the line the MORE resistance to whatever you are trying to move in that line. ONE loop in your Pressure line should be enough 6-8" MAX.
Keep you fuel line as short as possible or it will effect engine tuning drasticly. [/B]
Thanks for the advice. I'll try about 7" when i get my goodies in and my car running again. Tuning isnt really a problem, but i do understand what u mean and you are correct. BTW nice nrs4 in the pic
__________________
Wow these forums have gotten popular since 02!
TheRagunCajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 10:59 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
eddiethefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montebello, California
Posts: 1,658
Send a message via ICQ to eddiethefish
Default

Hmm... This is really good to know. I'll shorten my fuel tube and make sure the pressure tube is about 7" long.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mtx2.jpg (57.1 KB, 148 views)
eddiethefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 11:46 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Nice Set-up

Quote:
Originally posted by eddiethefish
Hmm... This is really good to know. I'll shorten my fuel tube and make sure the pressure tube is about 7" long.
Eddiethefish;

Nice Mugen. I would leave the Fuel line alone, It looks fine. The pressure line if shortened will make your engine more responsive. Sometimes guys will run long lines on off-road to tame down the engine and to keep more fuel in the line in case of a rollover. It is not really needed for on-road.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg my reflex 01.jpg (72.6 KB, 129 views)

Last edited by popsracer; 12-09-2002 at 11:48 AM.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 11:59 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
eddiethefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montebello, California
Posts: 1,658
Send a message via ICQ to eddiethefish
Default Re: Nice Set-up

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
Eddiethefish;

Nice Mugen. I would leave the Fuel line alone, It looks fine. The pressure line if shortened will make your engine more responsive. Sometimes guys will run long lines on off-road to tame down the engine and to keep more fuel in the line in case of a rollover. It is not really needed for on-road.
Hello popsracer,

Your Reflex looks so clean, have you run it at all? Thank you for the advice. I'll shorten the pressure line, definitely.
eddiethefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 10:30 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default RUN IT AT ALL!!! are you kidding?

Mr. FishtheEddie

If I don't race EVERY weekend I start going through Nitro Withdrawls and get REALLY cranky!.

I raced an HPI Nitro2/Racer2 (My Son still has one). for about 2 years before getting my Reflex. I've had my Reflex for about a 1 yr now and I wouldn't trade it for anything. Total Reflexes in the Familiy is (4).
And I really do race every weekend (on/off-road) and it's easier to work on when clean.

Heres our pit this last Sunday. (not me in the picture)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg la mirada race.jpg (45.4 KB, 147 views)

Last edited by popsracer; 12-09-2002 at 10:35 PM.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 10:51 PM   #14
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Check here for the tech tips about line length from the engine master
Manticore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 11:17 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
eddiethefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montebello, California
Posts: 1,658
Send a message via ICQ to eddiethefish
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by eddiethefish
Hmm... This is really good to know. I'll shorten my fuel tube and make sure the pressure tube is about 7" long.
Thank you MantiCore, I'll shorten mine to 8" then
eddiethefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Fuel Filter? Captpete Nitro Off-Road 2 07-27-2008 10:24 PM
LST2 fuel filter mcc Monster Trucks 2 10-17-2007 11:57 PM
Run with or without a fuel filter? GHETTOTEACHER Nitro Off-Road 5 08-14-2007 08:50 AM
Fuel Filter? customride Rookie Zone 11 05-27-2007 02:51 PM
fuel filter and air filter GReddy Electric Off-Road 1 07-10-2004 08:04 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:42 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net