Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
Is Xiangtat S30 SH-21 Nitro engine of good quality? >

Is Xiangtat S30 SH-21 Nitro engine of good quality?

Is Xiangtat S30 SH-21 Nitro engine of good quality?

Old 06-18-2018, 01:33 PM
Tech Rookie

Questions?? Is Xiangtat S30 SH-21 Nitro engine of good quality?

Hi everyone,

I need advice from you guys on purchasing my first engine as I'm a noob in nitro engines. Going to make my first build in a few months. So, briefly about my situation. I'm living in Saudi Arabia. Unfortunately there aren't any local retailers that sell these so I have to resort to online purchase, which is usually Amazon.com. And even then there are only a few sellers that ship to here.

I want to be familiarized with nitros before I go for more expensive ones so I have these two ones in my list which ships to my location:

1. Xiangtat S30 SH-21 E3.48cc engine, costs like $98 with all the import fees and charges in total.

2.Traxxas 5207R TRX 2.5R, costs like $128 in total

The first seems to be cheaper but since its Chinese I don't know if its good brand to go with and googling didn't come with much. Anyone has any experience with those Sh engines? The Traxxas seems to be definitely a good one. These are shipped from the US in like 21-35 days amazon says. So, I want be sure before I order it.

Also are nitro plugs of the same size for all Nitro engines?

Thanks in advance.
Old 06-18-2018, 01:44 PM
Tech Champion

The SH is a "bigblock" the traxxas a "Smallblock"

For what car?
Old 06-20-2018, 02:31 PM
Tech Elite

Don't be nationalist. Most nitro engines are made in China nowadays. What matters is how much quality control the reselling company paid the factory for.