Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Needle tuning crisis. Help

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2016, 02:01 PM
Tech Apprentice

Default Needle tuning crisis. Help

I am running my first nitro ever. I am still learning, i am a newbie. Also i am afraid of leaning out my engine. I am afraid that i will damage it. I have a vx-18 engine in my car and my current needle settings seem lean to me but it keeps spitting clouds of smoke, and i have a light carbon build up (tiny spots) on my piston. My HSN is 2 turns out from full closed pos. and my LSN is 2.5 turns out. Its sometimes still choking on fuel when i floor the throttle. Not that unsure bogging that a lean engine makes. Its a sudden rev drop on full throttle. Also I never got high temps, i could always touch it for a sec or so. Oh and another thing: It keeps spitting oil on the chassy. Literally spraying. I am using Nitrolux 16% fuel, with 10% plus synthetic add ons. Is the carbon build up a problem? Can I remove it?
Old 09-20-2016, 03:05 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)

Sounds like it is too rich, lean it out a little and try it. The carbon build up is normal provided its not too much but I wouldn't be too concerned. 2 turns out does seem quite a way down though, maybe reset needles back to after run in point and go from there. These pages might help out too.
http://www.rccaraction.com/blog/2013...rets-revealed/

http://www.rccaraction.com/blog/2011...-tuned-engine/
Old 09-20-2016, 04:59 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Sounds like it's really rich. I would start over with the tune. If it is bogging and there is a lot of smoke coming out, you are probably super rich. I would check your fuel lines also. There shouldn't be that much fuel spilling out if the lines don't have any tears.
Old 09-20-2016, 09:59 PM
Tech Apprentice

Originally Posted by tysonsk