Fuel question

Old 09-25-2015, 02:49 PM
Tech Apprentice

Default Fuel question

I am running Odonnell 30% in the white jug, not the castor syn blend in the clear bottle. Has anyone ran into a gumming problem with this fuel? This is my first time using it in a KE21R. No matter how I run the tank and lines clear, and always clean the LSN and fuel inlet, it's a nightmare to get running and cleaned out of the system. After getting the engine started (sometimes with a heat source), there is a clear bog to it and it takes almost 1/2 a tank to get rid of the bog in the engine. Any ideas? Thanks.
Old 09-25-2015, 05:22 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Do you mean the fuel itself is clogging up the engine? Or is it just running really rich. Different fuels need a different tune so if this is your first bottle you might need to retune. If it's the fuel clogging up the engine, stop using it
Old 09-25-2015, 09:08 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Get some 30% Byron or Bones Brew. Problem solved
Old 09-26-2015, 12:41 PM
Tech Apprentice

Here's the problem.
It is very hard to get primed before starting. There are no air leaks in the system. I also run a little extra fuel line with a Kyosho large fuel filter.
When fuel does get to carb, and priming (with throttle open and looking down the venturi) fuel barely comes out into the carb. Also when finally getting started and trying to idle, you can look down the carb when giving it throttle, and hardly any fuel comes out.
The whole time when you get it running and give it throttle it bogs from lack of fuel midrange.
After every run I run until starved and quits. Then while cleaning I open the slide and clean with alcohol on the lsn needle end and opening of spray inlet.
Any ideas that this may sound like? Am I chasing the wrong problem?
Old 09-26-2015, 01:58 PM
Tech Master

Your cleaning could have clogged the fuel inlet. Such cleaning is not necessary. Disassemble HSN assembly and pressure clean.