Community
Wiki Posts
Search

bearing upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2014, 04:36 AM
Tech Initiate

Default bearing upgrades

Would upgrading bearings throughout (or just certain parts) an 8ight-t 3.0, or any vehicle for that matter, give me any advantages or even disadvantages if I was just bashing for the most part?
I want to get ceramics for the engine any way, and I was looking at AvidRC's bearings for the rest as well.

So 1, which bearings, if any, would benefit from ceramics, or even just revolutions etc.

2, if I where to get the bearing kit off avid, where you can go and select which type of bearing for the size, http://www.avidrc.com/flexkit/?kit=7...name=8ight+3.0 what should I choose for each?
like the first on the list is 8x14x4 Flanged (6 Pieces) and have an option to choose:
Revolution Flanged
Flanged Rubber
Flanged Metal
Ceramic Flanged Revolution
Ceramic Flanged Metal
(i took out the serpents)
How do I know which will be suited and which will not?

I am new to all this as you can probably tell, and I haven't built the 8ight-t yet so I am unsure as to what needs to stay rubber sealed, what can get away with revolutions and/or metal, nor do I know which bearing size goes where on the truggy.

Hope I made sense..

Thanks
Old 09-08-2014, 05:56 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)

There are 4 main bearing sizes for the 3.0. Not including the clutch and steering rack and radio tray and those don't take as much of a beating so the stock ones are fine.

8x14x4 Unflanged for the outer hub carriers. 4 total.
1/2x3/4 Unflanged for the inner hub carriers. 4 total.
8x14x4 Flanged for the Diffs. 6 total.
5x11x4 Unflanged for the pinion thru the diff case. 4 total.

Unless you are trying to set land speed records, don't worry about ceramic. You wont be able to tell the difference and the extra money isn't worth it.