Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
What receiver pack battery type? >

What receiver pack battery type?

What receiver pack battery type?

Old 07-26-2014, 03:01 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default What receiver pack battery type?

Did a bunch of searches and could not find anything current. I am new to nitro and curious what you guys can share as far as pros and cons of the different cell types. I am running an MBX6 with jr9100 servos. I have a hi tech X4 AC so think I can charge most anything out there. Any input is greatly appreciated and please let everyone have their own opinion. So no bashing please. Just like to hear what works good for who and hopefully this will help others too.
Kris
Old 07-26-2014, 03:26 PM
Tech Adept

I run duratrax 1600 2/3a flat packs in the cars that take flat packs and 2/3a hump packs in the cars that fit 2/3a hump packs. Transmitter battery life is my limiting factor....or my attention span. There are lipos, voltage regulators and high voltage servos. To just step up from using 4AA throw always the ni-mh packs are a great step up in performance. The power the battery can put out will make your car feel like it has stronger servos!
Old 07-26-2014, 05:20 PM
Tech Rookie

If money is no object you cant go wrong with a lipo receiver pack. Charge lasts a long time and its quick to recharge. The downside is the initial cost of the battery and the fact that you need to buy a voltage regulator when running a lipo receiver pack.

Personally im still running nimh hump packs because they're cheap and easy. They dont last as long on a charge as a lipo and take longer to charge, but i make it through a day of racing my 1/8th scale no problem. I bring an extra nimh pack to the track just in case but even those two batteries are less than the cost of a lipo and voltage regulator.

Some day i'll step up to lipo when i have the extra cash but until then nimh works fine for me.
Old 07-26-2014, 05:54 PM
Tech Master