Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Why are people still using antenna tubes? >

Why are people still using antenna tubes?

Why are people still using antenna tubes?

Old 04-19-2014, 12:41 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (17)
 
hookem34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas.....Y'all!
Posts: 1,793
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default Why are people still using antenna tubes?

I know its kind of a silly question, but why are Pro drivers (and many others) still using antenna tubes? Everyone runs 2.4gHz now and there really is no need to do this?

Maybe it helps you spot your car a little easier on a large track?
hookem34 is offline  
Old 04-19-2014, 12:46 PM
  #2  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (96)
 
houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sherwood,OR
Posts: 15,837
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hookem34 View Post
I know its kind of a silly question, but why are Pro drivers (and many others) still using antenna tubes? Everyone runs 2.4gHz now and there really is no need to do this?

Maybe it helps you spot your car a little easier on a large track?
Many of the 2.4ghz rcvrs need the antenna , losing signal kinda suxx
houston is offline  
Old 04-19-2014, 01:03 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
Tyson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 423
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I like the look, even tho I haven't put my rx wire through the antenna for a few years now it still works fine, and on some tracks does help the vision with a longer antenna tube.
Tyson72 is offline  
Old 04-19-2014, 01:42 PM
  #4  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
nitrokyosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 33
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I used them before just for looks but not any more.
nitrokyosho is offline  
Old 04-19-2014, 02:02 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (127)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,064
Trader Rating: 127 (100%+)
Default

Only thing that saved me for a day of racing once now I always put them up. Had a KO kiy antenna break on me and couldn't get one at the track. Pulled antenna out of reciever box and tubed it. It gave me enough range to race.
ROSCOE is offline  
Old 04-19-2014, 02:23 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (226)
 
skengines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Blah Vegas
Posts: 5,296
Trader Rating: 226 (100%+)
Default

To help see the car better. I personally don't use one though.
skengines is offline  
Old 04-19-2014, 04:27 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 219
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

It's the trademark of RC Cars!
moto775 is offline  
Old 04-19-2014, 04:55 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (17)
 
hookem34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas.....Y'all!
Posts: 1,793
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by houston View Post
Many of the 2.4ghz rcvrs need the antenna , losing signal kinda suxx
Losing signal would suck, but how often would a 2.4gHz signal get lost?

I mean, if airplane and helicopter guys don't need an external antenna, why would we?

I do love me some braaaap!
hookem34 is offline  
Old 04-19-2014, 07:34 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (86)
 
tedstryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Coast like butta toast
Posts: 4,083
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Using a long antenna tube on a large track helps alot .Even on a small track having an off camber turn in the corner of the track.
tedstryker is offline  
Old 04-19-2014, 07:57 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
beidle99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Woodbury, NJ
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hookem34 View Post
Losing signal would suck, but how often would a 2.4gHz signal get lost?

I mean, if airplane and helicopter guys don't need an external antenna, why would we?

I do love me some braaaap!
Guys that fly Helis and planes on spektrum actually use satellite rx along with the main rx. Each rx has 2 antenna, so a heli or plane would have 4 antennas. 2.4 was new when I was flying and i didn't trust it from when it used to brown out running 1/12 scale, so no way was I putting it in a $2K heli.

I use to use a short antenna tube, now I go old school long antenna tube, looks cooler.
beidle99 is offline  
Old 04-20-2014, 01:43 AM
  #11  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

I only use Fioroni Modified antennae tubes. they make me faster
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 04-20-2014, 02:02 AM
  #12  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bremerhaven, Germany
Posts: 143
Default

and in the air there are no obstacles like jumps etc..better be on the safe side and use a tube to get the antenna above the cooling head etc
Barracuda72 is offline  
Old 04-20-2014, 03:19 AM
  #13  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 487
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

You still get better range with the antenna straight up. Try taking your wifi antenna and just coiling it up. You would have crap wifi then. Rc 2.4 uses the same spectrum that wifi a,b and g uses.
bhilly82 is offline  
Old 04-20-2014, 06:23 AM
  #14  
Tech Fanatic
 
alport78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 771
Default

I use sanwa receiver antenna allways in receiver box and never lost the signal. I still use antenna tube because I like the look but without any antenna in it
alport78 is offline  
Old 04-20-2014, 11:24 AM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Rsickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 1,335
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hookem34 View Post
I mean, if airplane and helicopter guys don't need an external antenna, why would we?
Aerial radio systems generally have diversity antennas. Some even have sleeved dipole antennas, circular polarized, etc, to improve reception. While they may not always route them "externally", that does not mean they are not taking care to route the antennas effectively inside (both antennas at 90-degree diffefence, away from noise-prone electronis {ESCs, leads, etc}).

Our car systems have no diversity and just use a screened cable, so it's always a good idea to maximize the antennas reception - but mostly, it's all about keeping it away from noise (i.e. - wrapping it up in the radio box on top of a battery lead and surplus servo wires).

Just becaue you may "get away with" bad practices doesn't mean you do them.

Last edited by Rsickles; 04-20-2014 at 11:35 AM.
Rsickles is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.