Like Tree2Likes

switches

Reply

Old 03-01-2014, 07:13 PM
  #16  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
1evo RRR Driver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by MotoGod View Post
oooh I like the idea of the locking plug. Gonna have to get me a few of those.....
just bought 4.........thanks for posting Danny B
1evo RRR Driver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 08:32 PM
  #17  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 1evo RRR Driver View Post
just bought 4.........thanks for posting Danny B
+1. I just ordered a bunch to keep in stock for our customers. Awesome plug for sure. I'm going to change out all my Futaba style plugs for those.
Jaz240 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 03:19 AM
  #18  
Tech Fanatic
 
tom1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: la maddalena italy
Posts: 875
Default

Originally Posted by ozziii View Post
I tried the Flysky switch, I wont be trying it again. While they work good, they don't last, the mounts are a bit weak as well & can break easily if not careful. I have heard from a few people that had similar problems with them as well.
I didn't have mine long, on a 1/8 nitro buggy, it just stopped working, was fine the day before when tested, then I drove 300+km to a race, got set up & went to start buggy, no power to the receiver or servo's, switch had fried itself.
Maybe they just can't handle the abuse they get from a nitro buggy & offroad use, might be better in something on smoother ground. I now use a normal switch (sanwa) & haven't had a problem.
ko is number one
tom1974 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 06:09 AM
  #19  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
hookem34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas.....Y'all!
Posts: 1,793
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tom1974 View Post
ko is number one
Yep. Been running the KO switch in all my buggy's and truggy's for 2 full seasons with Zero failures.
hookem34 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 09:44 AM
  #20  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
merdith6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazoria, TX
Posts: 2,350
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Cool

The thing is I run Nimh batteries and don't like to have the wires hanging out of the box. what is the best switch with a charge lead?
merdith6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 09:54 AM
  #21  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
mebolson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The 208
Posts: 1,051
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by merdith6 View Post
The thing is I run Nimh batteries and don't like to have the wires hanging out of the box. what is the best switch with a charge lead?
JR switch works great.
E
mebolson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 01:58 PM
  #22  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
hookem34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas.....Y'all!
Posts: 1,793
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by merdith6 View Post
The thing is I run Nimh batteries and don't like to have the wires hanging out of the box. what is the best switch with a charge lead?
Brother it's 2014....time to make a move to Lipo RX packs
token likes this.
hookem34 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 02:07 PM
  #23  
Tech Master
 
ozziii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Echuca, Victoria, Australia.
Posts: 1,425
Default

Originally Posted by hookem34 View Post
Brother it's 2014....time to make a move to Lipo RX packs
LiFe rx packs are alright to, I use them with standard servo's without any problems, 6.6v 2s gives the servo's a little extra speed over the niMh.
ozziii is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 03:44 PM
  #24  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
coviello's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: goshen ny
Posts: 361
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default What on/off switch is everyone using??

ive been doing some research without much luck on finding a good on/off switch. ive been debating on just running a plug but i dont really like the untidy/sloppy look of wires running outside of the battery box. just curious if there is a reliable switch out there that mounts up to the stock location. thanks folks
coviello is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 04:27 PM
  #25  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
frewster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 356
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I use the SkyRC/TrackStar/Protek digital switch. Works great. But it draws some power when off so you need to unplug your RX pack when done for the day.
frewster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 04:36 PM
  #26  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (85)
 
1/8 IC Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North America & Europe
Posts: 4,567
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

I run my battery direct with a holder, that keeps it from unplugging. Something like this. E2324 Mugen Seiki Battery Connector Holder: X8, X7 - Mugen Seiki Racing
1/8 IC Fan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 06:32 PM
  #27  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 494
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 1/8 IC Fan View Post
I run my battery direct with a holder, that keeps it from unplugging. Something like this. E2324 Mugen Seiki Battery Connector Holder: X8, X7 - Mugen Seiki Racing
I wonder how that would hold up for bashing. It's kind of annoying having to unscrew radio the tray every time I need to reinstall the battery. And how safe would it be around water.

Last edited by Cardiak; 05-13-2019 at 03:57 AM.
Cardiak is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 08:15 PM
  #28  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
frewster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 356
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'll take a picture of my setup tomorrow. It's never failed me.
coviello likes this.
frewster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 05:24 AM
  #29  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
hyperfuxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: geneva Illinois
Posts: 1,543
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

How to make Ronnefalk?s trick switch -NeoBuggy.net ? Offroad RC Car News
hyperfuxx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 01:35 PM
  #30  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
frewster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 356
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

As promised here's my switch setup. I have the switch and itsi female connector secured with servo tape as well as zip ties for wire management. I always use a servo lock to keep the battery from disconnecting. I used to not run a switch at all but it's nice to not have to disconnect the battery after each race. The switch also acts as an LVC for my lipo RX pack.

frewster is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service