Runaways?

Old 01-19-2014, 08:22 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
I Wheelie A LOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Runaways?

What causes runaways to be exact? I've had my 8ight-T randomly apply throttle by itself today, sometimes i even know when it's about to happen. I changed out my transmitter batteries, and even charged my receiver battery. It still manages to go crazy after running normally for about 10 minutes. What can be the cause of this? Thanks.
I Wheelie A LOT is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 08:56 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (68)
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,170
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Bad battery most likely. Some radio have a feature where the servos go into "failsafe" after the batt drops past a certain voltage. You can usually program where the servos will stop in the event of hitting the cutoff. It might just be hitting the cutoff quicker. Try programming tje brakes to come on in the even this happens again.
ThePanda is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 08:58 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,819
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Bad servo, receiver, battery, or transmitter.
Hoese37 is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 09:12 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
I Wheelie A LOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Hoese37 View Post
Bad servo, receiver, battery, or transmitter.
Servos are fine, transmitter is fine, receiver is new. I'm leaning a lot towards the battery rn

Originally Posted by ThePanda View Post
Bad battery most likely. Some radio have a feature where the servos go into "failsafe" after the batt drops past a certain voltage. You can usually program where the servos will stop in the event of hitting the cutoff. It might just be hitting the cutoff quicker. Try programming tje brakes to come on in the even this happens again.
Where would i program this failsafe? The only failsafe i have right now is from the receiver which switches to full brake if i ever lose signal from the car. Problem is, when it does run away, it looks like it isn't from signal loss as it should switch to full brake right away.
I Wheelie A LOT is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 09:17 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,819
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Are you using a LiFe pack by chance?
Hoese37 is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 09:26 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
I Wheelie A LOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I'm using a 2s Lipo 2200mah from Losi
I Wheelie A LOT is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 09:46 PM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (68)
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,170
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

some radios have a failsafe option in the radio settings.
ThePanda is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 09:48 PM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
I Wheelie A LOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Isnt that the same thing as setting a failsafe in the receiver?
I Wheelie A LOT is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 09:52 PM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (68)
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,170
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Not exactly. you can buy an optional external failsafe, that connects to the receiver, but some radios have it in the radio settings as well. So if the radio looses contact with the receiver ,or the voltage going to the reviver droppes to low, you can set the servos, or motor to return to neutral, or go to a programmed point of travel. (turn on brakes) Some radios have this feature, and some don't.
ThePanda is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 09:53 PM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
I Wheelie A LOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

That's the exact same thing i have though
I'm using a Spektrum and i set my failsafes from the transmitter.
I Wheelie A LOT is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 09:55 PM
  #11  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (68)
 
ThePanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,170
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by I Wheelie A LOT View Post
That's the exact same thing i have though
I'm using a Spektrum and i set my failsafes from the transmitter.
oh. we are talking about the same thing then... are they set for a certain voltage cutoff?
ThePanda is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 10:02 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,819
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Most likely a weak cell. Discharge it on your charger @2A and check the individual cell voltages.
Hoese37 is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 10:18 PM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
I Wheelie A LOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Hoese37 View Post
Most likely a weak cell. Discharge it on your charger @2A and check the individual cell voltages.
Umm..where can i get a balance connector that fits a receiver?
All my balance connectors are for standard sized batts.

and No panda, i dont think they are.
I Wheelie A LOT is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 10:26 PM
  #14  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (96)
 
houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sherwood,OR
Posts: 15,837
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Servo
houston is offline  
Old 01-19-2014, 10:28 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,819
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

If your RX pack has no balance connector, then id toss it and buy a new one with the proper balance lead.
Hoese37 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.