Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
hudy setup station??? >

hudy setup station???

hudy setup station???

Old 11-05-2013, 02:37 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chambersburg, Pa
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default hudy setup station???

I just got the 1/8 one along with truggy plate. Is there anything else I am going to need? What do the stickers for the boards do exactly? Never used one before, just want to make sure I have everything I need on the way. Thanks
turtletrax is offline  
Old 11-05-2013, 05:02 PM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

you need the droop blocks, the finger wheel nuts, and the set-up wheels to make it complete. The decals for the board are so you can measure track width
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 11-05-2013, 05:29 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
artis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 210
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

What's your take on the droop blocks. i was using mine and my buddy said he did not see the purpose in using the 30 mm droop blocks being that my ride height setting on my buggy was not 30 mm. Any ideas?
artis1 is offline  
Old 11-05-2013, 06:10 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chambersburg, Pa
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by artis1 View Post
What's your take on the droop blocks. i was using mine and my buddy said he did not see the purpose in using the 30 mm droop blocks being that my ride height setting on my buggy was not 30 mm. Any ideas?
It gives you a repeatable accurate baseline is what I thought
turtletrax is offline  
Old 11-05-2013, 08:47 PM
  #5  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

The arms need to be at full down travel in order to set and measure droop properly. You cannot achieve that unless the car is on a stand or lifted off the table (droop blocks) of course you can save the money and just cut some wood to 30mm but that's kinda ghetto considering all the coinage you just shelled out for the set up station.
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 11-05-2013, 09:49 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
nickdawg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Granite City, IL
Posts: 1,696
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

I use the droop blocks every time I use the station. Gets accurate repeatable numbers
nickdawg18 is offline  
Old 11-06-2013, 10:27 AM
  #7  
Tech Addict
 
USMC STONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 583
Default

No need for the sticker sheet or the set up wheels, the wheels stay in my bag and not sure why I got them now since if you set up on station with droop blocks everything is perfect when it comes off, most of my settings on radio stay around 0 its so accurate.
USMC STONE is offline  
Old 11-07-2013, 04:29 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
artis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 210
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by artis1 View Post
What's your take on the droop blocks. i was using mine and my buddy said he did not see the purpose in using the 30 mm droop blocks being that my ride height setting on my buggy was not 30 mm. Any ideas?
Ok I know what is was now. In the Hudy manual for a buggy it says when setting the camber you need to have the 30mm blocks in place and press down on your buggy while adjusting the camber....When he saw that he questioned the purpose of the 30mm droop probably because they are 30mm blocks and my ride height was set beneath that. Initially i said setting droop but the droop setting concept makes complete logical sense.
artis1 is offline  
Old 11-07-2013, 08:58 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Nitro Tiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Near a beach
Posts: 1,403
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by artis1 View Post
Ok I know what is was now. In the Hudy manual for a buggy it says when setting the camber you need to have the 30mm blocks in place and press down on your buggy while adjusting the camber....When he saw that he questioned the purpose of the 30mm droop probably because they are 30mm blocks and my ride height was set beneath that. Initially i said setting droop but the droop setting concept makes complete logical sense.
Yeh don't worry what your ride height is, as someone else said run the 30mm blocks to get a repeatable baseline reading at 30mm.
Nitro Tiger is offline  
Old 11-08-2013, 08:22 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chambersburg, Pa
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Wow I don't know why I haven't picked one of these up sooner! I was within reason using the caliper and camber gauge, but found I was off .5 degree(at most) or so on all four wheels(because of wheel variance). Where I found this thing to be awesome is how much I was off on toe and being able to take all the trim out of radio and set everything laser straight. I bet if I had a video I am sawing at the wheel far less now. Has really made a huge difference in handling and I had no clue it was that far off. Don't have the 30mm blocks yet but that's next.
turtletrax is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.