Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
clutch not in place >

clutch not in place

clutch not in place

Old 10-10-2013, 10:00 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 111
Default clutch not in place

The clutch of my rc car does not aline properly with the centre gear. The centre gear will aline with half of the clutch. I am worried if i keep driving my car the clutch and centre gear will strip. I have tried moving the engine so it is aline but it is right on the edge. Is there anything i can do or does this not matter
dazablue is offline  
Old 10-10-2013, 11:12 PM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

You have to shim your clutch. If your flywheel is too far from the engine you have the wrong collet. What clutch and car do you have?
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 10-13-2013, 07:54 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 111
Default

It is a hip trophy 4.6 with a k4.6 engine, 13t clutch. I have tried other clutches and it happens to all of them
dazablue is offline  
Old 10-13-2013, 09:57 PM
  #4  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like you just have the wrong clutch bell then. Some bells have a much lower or taller profile than others. Check your manual for the correct part number for the clutch bell and get that one.
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 10-16-2013, 12:20 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 111
Default

that is the clutch in the manual
dazablue is offline  
Old 10-16-2013, 06:26 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
BillyT.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

A losi clutchbell will fix this problem...

BUT...

Isn't this a RTR truck? Has it always been this way? Or only after you took it apart?
BillyT. is offline  
Old 10-16-2013, 06:02 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 111
Default

It has got a k4.6 engine on and the original engine is the f4.6 and i only released it when i posted this thread
dazablue is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.