Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Nitro sct losi 3.4 problem >

Nitro sct losi 3.4 problem

Nitro sct losi 3.4 problem

Reply

Old 07-10-2013, 03:56 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
XRated SCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SanDiego
Posts: 1,065
Default Nitro sct losi 3.4 problem

3tank old tlr sct nitro won't start, it cranks and feels like good compression but it seems like the engine won't suck in nitro unless I plug the exhaust, this is brand new any opinions on what's wrong, if I blow fuel through the fuel line into the carb it starts for a few seconds reving really high then dies as if it's only starting from the fuel I manually put in the carb
XRated SCT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 04:00 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (88)
 
BMenard17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Port, FL
Posts: 6,705
Trader Rating: 88 (99%+)
Default

Change the plug
BMenard17 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 09:37 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
XRated SCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SanDiego
Posts: 1,065
Default

So even if I checked the plug and it glows good it still can be bad?
XRated SCT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 10:55 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
JoePit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,278
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Set both needles to flush and give it a go. Real hard to diagnose a problem like this without seeing what going on and what you have done. From the factory they come with a fairly large idle gap (mine did anyway) so it sounds like its starving for fuel. Set HSN and LSN to flush and give it a go while tapping the throttle a bit.

Keep us posted.
JoePit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 11:42 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
XRated SCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SanDiego
Posts: 1,065
Default

Originally Posted by JoePit View Post
Set both needles to flush and give it a go. Real hard to diagnose a problem like this without seeing what going on and what you have done. From the factory they come with a fairly large idle gap (mine did anyway) so it sounds like its starving for fuel. Set HSN and LSN to flush and give it a go while tapping the throttle a bit.

Keep us posted.
So I took out the glow plug and plugged in the battery and hit the ross button with the glow plug plugged into the ross glow ignitor wire and it doesn't glow but I did something ghetto and touched a positive/negative wire with power to the glow plug and the plug lit up, how is it possible that the ross iginitor went bad
XRated SCT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 12:09 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
JoePit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,278
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Are you certain the ignitor is bad? If you pull the plug and connect the ignitor you still need a ground for it to work.
JoePit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 12:12 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
XRated SCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SanDiego
Posts: 1,065
Default

so the glow plug has to be grounded?
XRated SCT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 12:42 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
JoePit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,278
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Yes you will need to ground the plug if testing the ignitor while out of the car. Just touch it to the engine case and press the start button.
JoePit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 04:24 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
XRated SCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SanDiego
Posts: 1,065
Default

Did that and still no glow, sparks but no glow, I'm assuming this means the ignitor wire is still good, if so why does the glow plug glow while connected to 4double A's
XRated SCT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 05:46 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
XRated SCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SanDiego
Posts: 1,065
Default

I can blow through the exhaust line and air comes out the carb line but when I connect the carb line back to the carb no air gets through when I blow, is this how it's suppose to be?
XRated SCT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 07:59 AM
  #11  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
rubiconon37's's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If you are having to blow into the tanks pressure line for it to start the. Their is a fuel delivery problem. Since on a nitro car the back pressure from the exhaust is basically the fuel pump check the tank to see if it holds pressure. Your fuel lines, also the rear exhaust gasket for the header. Hope this helps.
rubiconon37's is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service