Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
running rooftop ac at home in driveway >

running rooftop ac at home in driveway

running rooftop ac at home in driveway

Old 06-08-2013, 04:39 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (33)
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,447
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default running rooftop ac at home in driveway

Should I be concerned running this pit trailer setup at home off of a 120v outlet? The breaker this is running off of in my house panel is a 20a.

13, 500 btu ac
32" lcd tv
Soundbar with wireless sub
Couple led lights
Tiny mini fridge

All of this is run through a heavy duty ext cord

I think the ac alone is 1850 watts running
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline  
Old 06-08-2013, 06:58 PM
  #2  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: norway
Posts: 189
Default

Originally Posted by CaptainHowdyt13 View Post
Should I be concerned running this pit trailer setup at home off of a 120v outlet? The breaker this is running off of in my house panel is a 20a.

13, 500 btu ac
32" lcd tv
Soundbar with wireless sub
Couple led lights
Tiny mini fridge

All of this is run through a heavy duty ext cord

I think the ac alone is 1850 watts running
Are you asking if you can use al this on a 20A fuse?
The ac is 1850w diveded on 120v =15.4A
So you have 4.6A left.x 120v =552watt to use
xray808-11 is offline  
Old 06-08-2013, 06:59 PM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 58
Default

I have a dedicated 30 amp plug for our trailer now, but we used a similar setup to yours for years before I upgraded the wiring. I was running off the garage circuit with a heavy duty extension cord before. That breaker was rated at 30 amps and it never tripped with the ac on.
AERob is offline  
Old 06-08-2013, 07:46 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (33)
 
CaptainHowdyt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lost Lake
Posts: 1,447
Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default

With everything on, nothing trips, just the female end of the extension cord was warmish after running everything for a few hours
CaptainHowdyt13 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.