Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Throttle end point >

Throttle end point

Throttle end point

Old 09-08-2012, 09:24 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Granville, IL
Posts: 304
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Throttle end point

I finally upgraded my throttle servo in my RC8. I am now running Savox 1256 for steering and 1257 for throttle. I dialed in the end point for the throttle side, but thats a no brainer. My question is for the brakes. Right now I have it turned down to 35% and it still pulls the brakes pretty hard, but seems to work the servo. I know there is no way around being hard on the servo when it comes to braking, but I just want to get an idea of where I should put my EP. I am running an M11. Thanks guys.
mberta2 is offline  
Old 09-08-2012, 09:35 AM
  #2  
Suspended
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 1,012
Trader Rating: 7 (73%+)
Default

Just keep it at 35% if you like the feel of that, if you want more brakes, higher it, less brakes, lower it. I won't hurt the servo.
chopper82p is offline  
Old 09-08-2012, 09:44 AM
  #3  
Tech Regular
 
tak4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Brunei
Posts: 361
Default

I used to set my servo at 50% for brakes in the past even though 40% was enough. Set it as my failsafe as well.

One day my transmitter failed and the failsafe kicked in. Was taking my sweet time walking to my car when I heard a pop and saw smoke from my car. It was a high end Sanwa servo as well... Now I set my brakes epa to as low as it would allow me to stop my car the way i want it to.

Expensive lesson learnt

Expensive lesson learnt.
tak4 is offline  
Old 09-08-2012, 10:03 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Granville, IL
Posts: 304
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I'll keep it at 35. Seems to brake good. Much better than it did with the RTR servo. It only had 39oz/in of torque. This thing is night and day from that POS. 4 times the torque and more than twice as fast.
mberta2 is offline  
Old 09-08-2012, 08:09 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (39)
 
Diff Balls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 710
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I also have fried a servo with the brakes, since that experience I set it to where I know it's not enough and just take it to the track and add more little by little until its where i want it based off the performance.
Diff Balls is offline  
Old 09-08-2012, 10:13 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
 
mkorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Woodland Hills Ca
Posts: 303
Default

There's no number that you should run for brake EPA. Depending on your linkage and dead band it could be anywhere between 12 and 50.

Set a 1mm gap before the front and rear brakes are engaged. Set the EPA so you get enough brake. Then adjust the collars individually to set the front rear brake bias. I usually run 40% front and 60% rear.

More front brake is more stable. More rear brake is more steering.
mkorn is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.