Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
One starter box--two different cars? >

One starter box--two different cars?

One starter box--two different cars?

Old 08-15-2012, 04:43 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
TX_Punisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default One starter box--two different cars?

I while back I recall reading, and possibly seeing a photo, of someone who was running buggy and truggy, but had his starter box setup so that he could start both vehicles by quickly, and easily, changing a top plate.

I know there has to be several people that have found clever ways to start their truggies and buggies on the same box with just a simple change.

As I've never ran two vehicles, but may in the future, I'm looking for ideas on how to setup the blue OFNA box to start both an XB9 and an XT8.

That being said, show me what you've got

Thanks
TX_Punisher is offline  
Old 08-15-2012, 05:12 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,016
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

http://www.nitrorcx.com/starterbox.html

Just buy one of those. Not worth the hassle of switching a starter box top between rounds. Plus the cost of a new top and mounting pieces for the Ofna 10244, is more than the whole box above.
BrakeTurnAccelerate is offline  
Old 08-15-2012, 05:51 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
TX_Punisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

So are you saying buy TWO of those?
TX_Punisher is offline  
Old 08-15-2012, 06:47 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (61)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 984
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

No need to buy another top plate for the starter box. I can quickly adjust my starter box to start both my truggy and buggy. I will take a pic of my box when I get home.
mr240 is offline  
Old 08-15-2012, 07:10 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (73)
 
modified763's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mansfield, Texas
Posts: 1,063
Trader Rating: 73 (97%+)
Default

I have an Ofna 10246 with no modifications and can fire up my HB D8 and D8T no problem. I thought it was weird too...
modified763 is offline  
Old 08-15-2012, 07:10 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,016
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TX_Punisher View Post
So are you saying buy TWO of those?
I thought you had one now, for your current car? And you were just going to buy a second top plate for a possible 2nd vehicle so could use it on your current starter box?
BrakeTurnAccelerate is offline  
Old 08-15-2012, 07:18 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
TX_Punisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BrakeTurnAccelerate View Post
I thought you had one now, for your current car? And you were just going to buy a second top plate for a possible 2nd vehicle so could use it on your current starter box?
I guess I could get one, but then I'd need another LIPO.

I think two boxes would be too much to keep up with lol. However, it is a possibility.
TX_Punisher is offline  
Old 08-15-2012, 09:41 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Bay Area!!!
Posts: 206
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

My Ofna chrome starts my xb9 and my strr perfect.
It took forever to set it up to work
Iwannatt is offline  
Old 08-15-2012, 09:57 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
Airlmeier4422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: BUFFALO, NY
Posts: 334
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

My ofna has no guides on it.. I use it for my Losi 8ight 2.0, my buddies Jammin x1 and a durango... It just takes two seconds longer to line up properly but oh well saves me the money...
Airlmeier4422 is offline  
Old 08-15-2012, 10:05 PM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
TX_Punisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I just vaguely recall a guy here who had his box set up for buggy and truggy but had a way to interchange plates on top without screwing and unscrewing the posts. It was a pretty good setup.
TX_Punisher is offline  
Old 08-15-2012, 10:14 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
mxer373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: At the track!!!
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm on the one box 2 car program ....i run mugen mbx6 and 6t with the ofna blue box and i just set the back up so it would line up for both and then just slide the front back for buggy forward for truggy .... i have the back screwed down in a couple of spots so it wont move ....
mxer373 is offline  
Old 08-15-2012, 11:31 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
AZRC4Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 1,147
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Airlmeier4422 View Post
My ofna has no guides on it.. I use it for my Losi 8ight 2.0, my buddies Jammin x1 and a durango... It just takes two seconds longer to line up properly but oh well saves me the money...
I hate pitting for guys like you lol! Seriously though, it helps so much in the pits if you flame out and need to get your car fired up quickly to have a box you can just drop your car onto without thinking or looking for the starter wheel to line up to the flywheel.

Originally Posted by TX_Punisher View Post
I just vaguely recall a guy here who had his box set up for buggy and truggy but had a way to interchange plates on top without screwing and unscrewing the posts. It was a pretty good setup.
I have the Ofna blue box, and use two tops, one for buggy, one for truggy. It screws in with two bolts (one on each side) on the front side of the box and I use a strip of velcro on the other side to secure the lid. Super easy, takes less than 10 seconds to swap tops, don't have to move the posts, and the lid stays shut.
AZRC4Me is offline  
Old 08-16-2012, 04:41 AM
  #13  
TIX
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
TIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 1,958
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I made up 2 plates with pins to hold the buggy and truggy and then just used velcro to hold them on top of the box with some locating pins
TIX is offline  
Old 08-16-2012, 05:35 AM
  #14  
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4,814
Default

Electric 1/8th scale is getting huge.

Someone in your area has to be selling a Ofna truggy box used. Slap a 4 cell 4500mah lipo in it.

Using 1 box with two cars, on the same day, is too much of a pain in the ###. Also causes extra wear on the pin things. Get 2 boxes.
Zerodefect is offline  
Old 08-16-2012, 08:03 AM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
TX_Punisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AZRC4Me View Post
I have the Ofna blue box, and use two tops, one for buggy, one for truggy. It screws in with two bolts (one on each side) on the front side of the box and I use a strip of velcro on the other side to secure the lid. Super easy, takes less than 10 seconds to swap tops, don't have to move the posts, and the lid stays shut.
You know what they say? A picture says a thousand words

Originally Posted by Zerodefect View Post
Electric 1/8th scale is getting huge.

Someone in your area has to be selling a Ofna truggy box used. Slap a 4 cell 4500mah lipo in it.

Using 1 box with two cars, on the same day, is too much of a pain in the ###. Also causes extra wear on the pin things. Get 2 boxes.
Could also be another possibility.
TX_Punisher is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.