Odd problem?

Old 05-17-2012, 04:40 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
rcboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,715
Default Odd problem?

Hey all. For starters, I have been in this hobby for a while and know what I'm doing. Although, I am newer to nitro. I am having a weird problem with my car. When I apply throttle on the starter box, then return the trigger back to neutral, the engine takes about 3 seconds to return back to neutral. The servo itself moves back to neutral, but the engine is still spinning faster than it would at neutral. The engine is an nVision 521b. Thanks
rcboy1 is offline  
Old 05-17-2012, 05:08 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (86)
 
bigjayjay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,605
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

you might have a linkage issue it not closing the carb all the way get a rubber band put it on the carb leg run it to the high needle. Make sure you put the linkage on the carb before securing the rubber band play with the tension you dont want a lot just enough so the rubber pulls everything shut this is also a safety and motor saver.
bigjayjay1 is offline  
Old 05-17-2012, 05:18 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
rcboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,715
Default

Originally Posted by bigjayjay1 View Post
you might have a linkage issue it not closing the carb all the way get a rubber band put it on the carb leg run it to the high needle. Make sure you put the linkage on the carb before securing the rubber band play with the tension you dont want a lot just enough so the rubber pulls everything shut this is also a safety and motor saver.
I thought that might be the problem also, but seems like no luck. Could it be an air leak? I have noticed some fuel dripping down from where the header meets the pipe. Also, my header had a large dent in it, but is not pierced.
rcboy1 is offline  
Old 05-17-2012, 06:28 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcboy1 View Post
I thought that might be the problem also, but seems like no luck. Could it be an air leak? I have noticed some fuel dripping down from where the header meets the pipe. Also, my header had a large dent in it, but is not pierced.
Take some motor spray and while running spray it around areas that could be leaking if the motor cuts off or changes tune you have a leak in that area.
PUDDIN is offline  
Old 05-17-2012, 08:06 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (26)
 
robbieg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ky
Posts: 346
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

richen the lsn.
robbieg is offline  
Old 05-17-2012, 08:09 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (86)
 
bigjayjay1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,605
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

OK motor details

Is the motor new
If used how many gallons are you the original owner
What's your setting for the high and low needles Flush, two turns in from flush etc?
Take the filter off and Carb restrictor out of the Carb the gap between the slide and body should be close to the thickness of a credit card.

What fuel
What plug
bigjayjay1 is offline  
Old 05-17-2012, 08:12 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
merdith6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Brazoria, TX
Posts: 2,350
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Yep

You either have the idle sppeed too high and the bottom a bit fat, or the bottom too lean and or the top a bit lean.
merdith6 is offline  
Old 05-17-2012, 08:22 PM
  #8  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Richen the top a little and see if it helps. If not then>>
Lean out the bottom to where it holds and drop the idle down.
Frank L is offline  
Old 05-17-2012, 09:59 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
rcboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 3,715
Default

Originally Posted by bigjayjay1 View Post
OK motor details

Is the motor new
If used how many gallons are you the original owner
What's your setting for the high and low needles Flush, two turns in from flush etc?
Take the filter off and Carb restrictor out of the Carb the gap between the slide and body should be close to the thickness of a credit card.

What fuel
What plug
not exactly, It's been ran through about 8 tanks not including break in.
Will check tomorrow for needle settings.
I have the carb set right, it's about .7 mm.
Originally Posted by merdith6 View Post
You either have the idle sppeed too high and the bottom a bit fat, or the bottom too lean and or the top a bit lean.
thanks, will try it out tomorrow.
rcboy1 is offline  
Old 05-17-2012, 10:18 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
RCmayor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 2,745
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

The idle gap could still be too big at .7 Measuring idle gap doesn't work, it just gets it close.
RCmayor is offline  
Old 05-18-2012, 12:04 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (51)
 
Rock333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

It could be a tuning problem like others a have said but i would check to make sure that there is no binding in the carb. Just because the servo returns back to neutral does not mean that the throttle is getting closed. If there is binding in the throw it will cause the issue you have as well.
Rock333 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.