AKA Tires

Old 12-07-2011, 06:10 AM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
drstrangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 867
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default AKA Tires

Hi Guys,

Anyone know if those AKA tires that pre-mounted with the wheels come with holes ready in the tire?

I mean, it is advisable to create few holes on the tire right? So thus the pre-mounted one they do the same?
drstrangelove is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 06:16 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TVMRocket69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 1,902
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by drstrangelove View Post
Hi Guys,

Anyone know if those AKA tires that pre-mounted with the wheels come with holes ready in the tire?

I mean, it is advisable to create few holes on the tire right? So thus the pre-mounted one they do the same?
Yes holes are in the tires already.
TVMRocket69 is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 08:42 AM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
drstrangelove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Singapore
Posts: 867
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks TVMRocket69.

Originally Posted by TVMRocket69 View Post
Yes holes are in the tires already.
drstrangelove is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 12:06 PM
  #4  
Tech Initiate
 
OnePixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Default

I just bought Proline pre-mounted, and no holds in the tires.
anyone know how to punch holds in tires without remove them off?
Thx
OnePixel is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 12:27 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
pickle311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,650
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by OnePixel View Post
I just bought Proline pre-mounted, and no holds in the tires.
anyone know how to punch holds in tires without remove them off?
Thx

Leather hole punch is what I use. There's enough spacing to get it over the wheel.
pickle311 is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 12:40 PM
  #6  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

you cant use a hole punch on pre-mounted tires, Pull the rubber away from the foam and use a dremel to drill a hole about 2-3MM
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 12:41 PM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
 
OnePixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Default

Originally Posted by pickle311 View Post
Leather hole punch is what I use. There's enough spacing to get it over the wheel.
Do you mean using the leather punch on the tire and wheel together, so it will go through the tire??
OnePixel is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 12:43 PM
  #8  
Tech Initiate
 
OnePixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 22
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
you cant use a hole punch on pre-mounted tires, Pull the rubber away from the foam and use a dremel to drill a hole about 2-3MM
I think this will work : ),, Thanks
OnePixel is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 01:19 PM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (25)
 
losi_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
you cant use a hole punch on pre-mounted tires, Pull the rubber away from the foam and use a dremel to drill a hole about 2-3MM
Yes you can , I've had to do it. Pull the tire away and pinch it and align the hole punch at the edge of the tire where you pinched it
losi_racer is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 02:42 PM
  #10  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
Yes you can , I've had to do it. Pull the tire away and pinch it and align the hole punch at the edge of the tire where you pinched it
Explain how you do not punch 2 holes in your tire like that. You have to insert the folded tire into the hole punch and when you squeeze its going to punch a hole all the way through. If you manage to get the entire tire and wheel inside the hole punch, when you squeeze you will also be punching a hole in your foam. I just cant picture any way for a hole punch to work on a pre-mount, but I've been wrong before
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 02:46 PM
  #11  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
Explain how you do not punch 2 holes in your tire like that. You have to insert the folded tire into the hole punch and when you squeeze its going to punch a hole all the way through. If you manage to get the entire tire and wheel inside the hole punch, when you squeeze you will also be punching a hole in your foam. I just cant picture any way for a hole punch to work on a pre-mount, but I've been wrong before
Doug is special that way.
Frank L is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 02:47 PM
  #12  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (25)
 
losi_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
Explain how you do not punch 2 holes in your tire like that. You have to insert the folded tire into the hole punch and when you squeeze its going to punch a hole all the way through. If you manage to get the entire tire and wheel inside the hole punch, when you squeeze you will also be punching a hole in your foam. I just cant picture any way for a hole punch to work on a pre-mount, but I've been wrong before
Put the hole punch at the edge where you pinched it up , then since its folded against it self only use half the diameter of the hole punch ,sorry if you don't understand it's hard to explain , I can show you at the track if wanted
losi_racer is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 02:49 PM
  #13  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (25)
 
losi_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Doug is special that way.
Shut it frank ..l.. ..l..
losi_racer is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 02:50 PM
  #14  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

I understand you now. Punch a half moon at the very tip and when unfolded it's a full circle. Man you really need to stretch the rubber to do that, but I got you now.
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 12-07-2011, 02:54 PM
  #15  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (25)
 
losi_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
I understand you now. Punch a half moon at the very tip and when unfolded it's a full circle. Man you really need to stretch the rubber to do that, but I got you now.
Yeah . Not the preferred way but it can be done . Better then drilling and possibly hitting the foam IMO
losi_racer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.