Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Starter box question >

Starter box question

Starter box question

Old 11-16-2011, 01:11 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 638
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Starter box question

Hi guys, I'm getting into Nitro and needing a starter/bump box. What voltage do these things run on? I think I saw somewhere you can put a 4S pack in them. I have several 2S turnigy packs left over from electric stuff. Can I run 2 of them in series in the box??

Thanks, Jeff
mellen_mpz is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 01:23 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
kaptain crash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: York PA.
Posts: 1,494
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mellen_mpz View Post
Hi guys, I'm getting into Nitro and needing a starter/bump box. What voltage do these things run on? I think I saw somewhere you can put a 4S pack in them. I have several 2S turnigy packs left over from electric stuff. Can I run 2 of them in series in the box??

Thanks, Jeff
Most are made to run between 12 and 15 volts....I bet some might run more.
kaptain crash is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 01:26 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 638
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

how much room is in those things? enough to fit 2 2S packs?
mellen_mpz is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 01:34 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
kaptain crash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: York PA.
Posts: 1,494
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mellen_mpz View Post
how much room is in those things? enough to fit 2 2S packs?
Depends on the box you choose...I run the chrome top with a 12 volt gel cell, its about the size of motorcycle bat. Alot will fit 2 six cell nickel packs...
kaptain crash is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 01:36 PM
  #5  
8T
Tech Adept
 
8T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Valley Village, Ca
Posts: 144
Default

Originally Posted by mellen_mpz View Post
Hi guys, I'm getting into Nitro and needing a starter/bump box. What voltage do these things run on? I think I saw somewhere you can put a 4S pack in them. I have several 2S turnigy packs left over from electric stuff. Can I run 2 of them in series in the box??

Thanks, Jeff
It really depends on the box. I run a 4s li-po in my losi boxes with no problem. Anyway, 4s in most boxes should be fine.
8T is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 01:48 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 190
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

you can also hook the bump box up to a car battery or something so you dont have to buy lipos.
EatYoLegs is offline  
Old 11-16-2011, 01:51 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 638
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

k thanks for the info!
mellen_mpz is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.