Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Need help with choosing parts (especially radio system) >

Need help with choosing parts (especially radio system)

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Need help with choosing parts (especially radio system)

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2011, 05:48 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Need help with choosing parts (especially radio system)

Hello, I am new to RC cars and I just bought a kit off of GreatHobbies.com. The DNX408 by Team Durango. I have been working on it for about 2 months on and off, but before I bought it I didn’t realize I would need so many extra parts.

After I researched on engines I decided to get a Dynamite Mach 2. I didn’t realize this wasn’t all the engine parts I needed. I am thinking of getting the ASC28048 exhaust pipe, DYM2505 air filter, and either the DYM2508 or DYM2509 glow plugs. Will all of these parts be compatible with the Mach 2? And are there any suggestions on if I should get “hot” or “cold” glowplugs for it?

I also need tires for my car... it’s a 1/8 scale buggy, and the terrain here is rough so I want off-road. I am thinking PRO903408. Will this fit a wheel with a 3 3/8(maybe 3 1/2) inch diameter?and 2 6/8 inch thick?

Now the last thing, I believe is the radio system. I bought a 100 dollar one from a local electronic store but the battery pack doesn't fit in my car so I need a "flat" one and I also need another servo. Are servos universal to all receivers? Will they work with eachother if I get any or do I need to keep the same brand? Do I need to check how much volts of electricity each component needs?

Thanks in advance.
Old 09-21-2011, 12:50 AM
Tech Addict

most servos are universal with a 3 pin plug, run the black wire the same as the switch plug, buy a good strong servo for this car or it will die prematurely.
10 kg or more and metal gears...you really should have 2 good one for a buggy, and you need the right spline servo horns also.