Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
1/8th Scale Buggy Setup ??? >

1/8th Scale Buggy Setup ???

1/8th Scale Buggy Setup ???

Reply

Old 10-13-2011, 05:02 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
Limywidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,492
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default 1/8th Scale Buggy Setup ???

Ok, So I am fairly new to trying to get my buggy setup.

I have been concentrating mostly on not injuring marshals/spectators.


I had been using an rpm camber gauge and it seemed to be functioning as prescribed. I recently picked up a Fioroni Setup station. I looked in the Hudy manual for a reference as to proper usage. It states that I need to place the 30mm droop blocks underneath chassis and make sure that the buggy sits on the block as I check camber. Wouldn't this assume a 30 mm ride height and throw off my actual ride height camber?

What is the general "in the field" usage?

If this is the case, why hasn't someone come up with an adjustable droop block that would adjust between say 24mm - 30mm with an adj screw or something?

Another thing I noticed while checking camber with the Fioroni as opposed to the rpm camber gauge is that there was app 3 deg diff between the two tools? Any explanation why?
Limywidget is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 05:45 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,506
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Camber changes
Through out the cycle of the suspension ride height set first on flat board then with radio and car on drop from 10" few times then withoit touching vehicle check camber adjust go through process un til right also adjust epa pf steering at ride height not while on standsame with toe
jewn_beef is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 05:54 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
Limywidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,492
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jewn_beef View Post
Camber changes
Through out the cycle of the suspension ride height set first on flat board then with radio and car on drop from 10" few times then withoit touching vehicle check camber adjust go through process un til right also adjust epa pf steering at ride height not while on standsame with toe
I appreciate the response, but I don't think it answers any of my questions. I can drop using the rpm gauge. But dropping the Fioroni won't have the results I think I would desire.
Limywidget is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:01 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,506
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Sorru if i am no help i know alot of people do not use seup stations for 1/8th buggy cause variances always changing
jewn_beef is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 06:14 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
Limywidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,492
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

No prob at all. From what I have read/know, some people just use them for camber and toe. This is what I am after as I have no reliable method whatsoever for toe. As far as camber it seems that dropping from rec height and measuring/adjusting camber and then going to the next tire is very time consuming and the results are all over the board. I was looking at the setup station as a way to limit the variances. Which I think is the intention with the droop blocks. If I had a way to have a 27mm droop block just to press the buggy down onto that would take a large amount of those variances out. I understand that it will change throughout the suspension range. But there has to be a way to have a baseline.
Limywidget is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 08:06 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
rsawyers9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 361
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

The droop blocks are how it eliminates variances. Always measure using the 30mm droop blocks and you always have the same reference point. I promise that your camber won't change much when you lower the car a couple mm.
rsawyers9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 05:51 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Jammin#2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Beach Park, IL
Posts: 172
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

You dont really need to pick up and drop the car each time. Set your desired ride height with the tires on. Then put on ur setup station. Push the car down to bottom out a few times so you get the static ride height then read and adjust ur camber as such. But i find the rpm or simple camber guages are much easier.
Jammin#2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 06:07 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Get a Losi ride height gauge, drop car from a few inches with full fuel load, set camber at proper ride height.
vw addict is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 02:58 AM
  #9  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

oops, tried to edit but erased my post by accident. oh well

Last edited by skye b.; 10-16-2011 at 01:02 AM.
skye b. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 03:40 AM
  #10  
Tech Initiate
 
ghea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 22
Default

Originally Posted by Limywidget View Post
If this is the case, why hasn't someone come up with an adjustable droop block that would adjust between say 24mm - 30mm with an adj screw or something?
There is soon
This is adjustable between 20-30mm in 1mm click steps.
Attached Thumbnails 1/8th Scale Buggy Setup ???-ghea-ride-height-tool-001-copy-2.png   1/8th Scale Buggy Setup ???-ghea-ride-height-tool-002-copy-3.png  
ghea is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 09:12 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
Limywidget's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,492
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

NICE!!, That is what I am talking about. How much? Need a Beta Tester?
Limywidget is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 12:10 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (86)
 
mblgjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AL
Posts: 2,179
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

GHEA: Make those where we can screw them onto a setup board
mblgjr is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service