Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Life receiver battery for MBX6 >

Life receiver battery for MBX6

Life receiver battery for MBX6

Old 02-24-2011, 03:15 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (37)
 
Resqnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 968
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default Life receiver battery for MBX6

What Life battery do you guys recommend for the Mugen MBX6 receiver?
Resqnu is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 03:26 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Resqnu View Post
What Life battery do you guys recommend for the Mugen MBX6 receiver?
I run the Pro-Tek 2300 Life for the mugen and it fits perfectly. I beleive ProMatch makes a Life as well that is a bit cheaper and their batteries are known for great quality... might be a few more out there??
trickedout is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 03:32 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (37)
 
Resqnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 968
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I can't find that battery nowhere. I can find a 2300 Lipo, but not Life. Is that a flat or hump battery? And are you putting it in the long or square tray box?
Resqnu is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 03:48 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Resqnu View Post
I can't find that battery nowhere. I can find a 2300 Lipo, but not Life. Is that a flat or hump battery? And are you putting it in the long or square tray box?
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...-Balancer-Plug

thats what I have. I just checked promatch and i guess i was wrong, they only show a lipo....

Edit: i was wrong protek only makes a 1450mah life as well.. not 2300

Last edited by trickedout; 02-24-2011 at 04:33 PM.
trickedout is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 03:51 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
drewmugx5t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 414
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

I have a hyperion 1450 life pack in mine. I think that is the largest capacity you can get right now. Mine has worked great for over a year now. I would never consider lipo or nimh again for rx.
drewmugx5t is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 04:09 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by drewmugx5t View Post
I have a hyperion 1450 life pack in mine. I think that is the largest capacity you can get right now. Mine has worked great for over a year now. I would never consider lipo or nimh again for rx.
Maybe in Hyperion the hightest is 1450 but the protek i just linked fits perfect and is a 2300 life...i run protek life in my buggy and protek 2300 lipo in my truggy with hv servos...Both fit perfect and have been great to me!!
trickedout is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 04:16 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
TommyBlazin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: jersey
Posts: 2,719
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by trickedout View Post
Maybe in Hyperion the hightest is 1450 but the protek i just linked fits perfect and is a 2300 life...i run protek life in my buggy and protek 2300 lipo in my truggy with hv servos...Both fit perfect and have been great to me!!
u linked a LIPO bro,.
TommyBlazin is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 04:32 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
trickedout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump,NV
Posts: 1,273
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TommyBlazin View Post
u linked a LIPO bro,.
LOL so I did I stand corrected Even the Protek is 1450mah...i dunno what i was thinking
trickedout is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 04:59 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
AZRC4Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 1,147
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

+1 on the protek LiFe packs. Don't be scared by the 1450mah rating, I run practice, quals, and a main on a single charge. They put out a shade over 7volts (7.2 I think)on a fresh charge, don't need a regulator, and can be deep discharged without the fear of swelling or explosion. LiFe rocks for Rx batteries. Just make sure you have a good balance charger.
AZRC4Me is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 05:12 PM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (37)
 
Resqnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 968
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I have a used Protech 1450 Life I purchased from a friend and only get about 3 tanks before steering goes (batt 6.10 v). Guess I need to buy a new one. I was curious if a Reedy 1700 Life hump (almost square) would fit in the square part of the mugen mbx6 radio tray. Anyone know? The measurements are close. I am using regular servos...Jr 9000s for throttle and Jr 9100s for steering.
Resqnu is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 09:21 PM
  #11  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (28)
 
Eagle7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 633
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

I've used the a main pack but prefer this one. It's lighter and they last longer.

http://www.cobrarcusa.com/node/19
Eagle7 is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 11:00 PM
  #12  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 76
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

This is what i ran in my MBX6T-should be fine in the X6

http://www.premierehobbies.com/produ...00M-AH%29.html
PremiereHobbies is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 11:10 PM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (37)
 
Resqnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 968
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Will the protek 1700 life fit in the square section of the radio/battery tray or do I have to use a flat battery in the longer tray?
Resqnu is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 11:11 PM
  #14  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 76
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Resqnu View Post
Will the protek 1700 life fit in the square section of the radio/battery tray or do I have to use a flat battery in the longer tray?
I ran mine in the square place. Also have the flat version if you want to go that way

http://www.premierehobbies.com/produ...50M-AH%29.html
PremiereHobbies is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 11:29 PM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (37)
 
Resqnu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 968
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I would like to try one of the square Protek 1700 if it fits my square radio tray in the mbx6 buggy. Where are you located?
Resqnu is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.