Wiki Posts
Search

Do you use shock boots ?

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2011, 07:45 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Do you use shock boots ?

I saw a few local pro guys they don't use shock boots.I am remember the first issues of the Xray 808 didn't come with boots neither.IMO negatives of the boots :-could bind and limit ,,,-if the boot has a hole actually its keep the dirt arond the shock shaft.(i had many times my boots was looking good and there was no visable hole but under the boots it was messy with dirt ) ..Positive about boots :-if its in good shape protecting well your shocks..........I removed the boots and the buggy feels different than when the boots instaled.Feels like the shock working smoother in full capacity..I wondering if i gonna have extensive wear or not?Have u guys tryed yet? What is your opinion?
Old 01-13-2011, 07:52 AM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 207 (100%+)

Im no pro, but I dont use them unless the track is really wet.....then it might not be a bad idea to throw them on. The Losi ones always seem to tear near the bottom anyways so I have always taken them off my cars. I inspect and clean/rebuild my shocks quite often and I keep an eye on the ti-nitride shaft coating to see how it's looking....If I see wear, I replace them to keep things as smooth as possible.
Old 01-13-2011, 08:07 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Play safe boys! Always wear protections to protect your shaft, shock shaft that is...
Old 01-13-2011, 08:09 AM
Tech Elite

A set of O rings costs as much as 4 shockboots. I use balloons and shockboots and there's not much debris under them.
Old 01-13-2011, 09:11 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)

When I ran 1/10th scale 2WD offroad years ago, shock boots weren't available (not sure if they're an option today).